What you need to know: Red Rooster Sydney SuperNight 300

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 03/08/2018
  • By Supercars.com

Virgin Australia Supercars Championship drivers will do battle under lights this Saturday evening, for the first time in seven years.

The Red Rooster Sydney SuperNight 300 marks a return of night racing following Abu Dhabi's 2010 and '11 races, and Supercars' first night races in Australia since the 1997 Calder Park event.

Sydney Motorsport Park is the venue, for the 300km, 300-point race, the 21st of the 31 in this year's championship.

What time is it on?

This weekend's schedule is vastly different to regular events, with Supercars on track Friday and Saturday.

Friday's on-track action starts at 10:20am, with Porsche's Carrera Cup Australia and Asia and Australian GT running through the day.

Supercars drivers will get their first taste of the night conditions in a 40-minute practice session from 6pm.

Saturday's program starts at 11:05am and includes Supercars Practice 2 at 1:20pm, knockout ARMOR ALL Qualifying at 4:20pm and the 77-lap race from 7:20pm.

Click here for the full track schedule. 

How can I watch it?

Every session of the Red Rooster Sydney SuperNight 300 will be broadcast live and ad-break free on Fox Sports 506.

Friday's coverage starts at 1:30pm and includes a special edition of Supercars Trackside from 4:35pm, leading into Practice 1.

On Saturday, the broadcast starts at 11am, with all the running and spectacular build-up to the 7:20pm race.

That will be followed by Supercars Trackside's debrief of the race from 9:45pm to 10:15pm.

Ten will also carry a special highlights package, from 3-5pm on Sunday, followed by a repeat on One from 11pm that evening.

Click here for the full television schedule.

Red Rooster Sydney SuperNight 300 event 10 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, Sydney, New South Wales. Australia. July 3rd to 4th 2018

Where can I buy tickets?

Tickets can be purchased online here, while there will be others available at the circuit.

How else can I follow it?

Supercars.com will provide all the latest news and updates throughout event, while you can follow along on social media with @supercars and the hashtag #VASC on Twitter, or facebook.com/supercars.

Live timing will also be available on Supercars.com and on the official app.

The numbers

Length: 3.9km

Direction: Anti-clockwise

Average Speed: 154km/h

Top Speed: 265km/h

Qualifying Lap Record: Scott McLaughlin, Shell V-Power Racing Falcon FG X, 1:28.2259s, 2017, Dunlop Super-Soft Tyre

Race Lap Record: Chaz Mostert, Supercheap Auto Racing Falcon FG X, 1:30.1577s, 2017, Dunlop Super-Soft Tyre

Race wins by driver

10: Mark Skaife

7: Marcos Ambrose

6: Glenn Seton

5: Craig Lowndes

4: Jamie Whincup

3: John Bowe, Shane van Gisbergen

2: Peter Brock, Chaz Mostert

1: Paul Radisich, Russell Ingall, Greg Murphy, Rick Kelly, Todd Kelly, Garth Tander, Will Davison, Mark Winterbottom, Scott McLaughlin, Fabian Coulthard

Pole positions by driver

5: Scott McLaughlin

4: Marcos Ambrose, Mark Skaife, Chaz Mostert

3: John Bowe

2: Craig Lowndes, Jamie Whincup

1: Dick Johnson, Glenn Seton, Peter Brock, Todd Kelly, Garth Tander


Last year at Sydney Motorsport Park

A controversial restart clash between leaders Scott McLaughlin and Shane van Gisbergen on the Saturday was the big talking point.

Fabian Coulthard pounced to take the victory, leading home Chaz Mostert and Jamie Whincup.

Sunday's spoils then went to Whincup ahead of Coulthard and van Gisbergen – eventual champion Whincup moving past long-time team-mate Craig Lowndes as Supercars' all-time race win record holder.


Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter