What you need to know: Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 27/07/2017
  • By Supercars.com

Queensland Raceway was quickly dubbed the ‘Paperclip’ because of its six-turn design and lack of elevation.

It was resurfaced in late 2011 and is the home test circuit to many cars in the field.

Mark Winterbottom - Race 16 - 2016 Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint

What time is it on?

The first cars hit the track at 8:55am local on Friday morning.

The opening Virgin Australia Supercars Championsip session begins at 11:05am for additional drivers. The cars return at 12:55pm for practice 1.

Saturday's 39 lap 120 kilometre race starts at 4:15pm local time while Sunday's is at the earlier 2:05pm time.

Click here for the full track schedule.

How can I watch it?

Every practice, qualifying and race from the Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint will be broadcast live, ad-break free on Fox Sports 506.

Race highlights can be seen on Saturday and Sunday evenings on Ten and ONE.

Click here for the full television schedule

Race 16

Where can I buy tickets?

Tickets can be purchased online here while there will be others available at the circuit through Ticketek.

How else can I follow it?

Supercars.com will provide all the latest news and updates throughout the weekend, while you can follow the weekend on social media with @supercars on Twitter, the hashtag #VASC or facebook.com/supercars.

Live timing will also be available on supercars.com throughout the weekend and on the official app.

The numbers

Length: 3.12km

Direction: Clockwise

Average Speed: 162km/h

Top Speed: 255km/h

Fast Fact: 2017 will mark the 21st time Queensland Raceway has hosted the Championship. Garth Tander and Craig Lowndes remain the only drivers in the field to have competed at all 20 previous events.

Qualifying Lap Record: Will Davison, Ford Performance Racing, Ford Falcon FG, 1m09.0593s, 2013, Dunlop Soft Tyre

Race Lap Record: Lee Holdsworth, Erebus Motorsport, Mercedes-Benz E63 AMG, 1m10.0423s, 2014, Dunlop Soft Tyre

Race 16

Race wins by driver

Craig Lowndes 12
Garth Tander 5
James Courtney 4
Jamie Whincup 4
Mark Winterbottom 4
Russell Ingall 3
Mark Skaife 2
Chaz Mostert 2
David Besnard 1
Simon Wills 1
John Bowe 1
Larry Perkins 1
Marcos Ambrose 1
Mark Skaife 1
Scott McLaughlin 1
Steven Johnson 1
Paul Radisich 1
Will Davison 1
Shane van Gisbergen 1

Pole positions by driver

Craig Lowndes 6
Jamie Whincup 6
Marcos Ambrose 5
Garth Tander 3
Will Davison 2
Chaz Mostert 2
James Courtney 1
James Moffat 1
Jason Bright 1
John Bowe 1
Mark Winterbottom 1
Scott McLaughlin 1
Chris Pither 1

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter