WAU closing on massive podium milestone

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 08/03/2021
  • By James Pavey

Chaz Mostert's Bathurst double has helped Walkinshaw Andretti United close in on a remarkable podium milestone.

Mostert finished third in Race 2 at the Repco Mt Panorama 500, which marked his 60th career podium.

A day earlier, Mostert impressed to second in Race 1, pushing Shane van Gisbergen all the way to the line.

Critically, Race 2 marked WAU's 248th podium, bringing the team closer to 250 rostrum visits.

WAU, which made its debut as the Holden Racing Team in 1990, will be the fourth team to reach the marker.

As HRT, the Walkinshaw squad was the dominant force at the turn of the century, with the team winning six of seven drivers' titles between 1996 and 2002.

Triple Eight Race Engineering secured a record 414th podium with van Gisbergen's Sunday win.

The Race 2 result also marked Triple Eight's 205th race win, and van Gisbergen's 42nd career win.

Dick Johnson Racing scored its 264th podium via Will Davison's impressive run to third in Race 1.

Davison and Cameron Waters combined for Tickford Racing at last October's Bathurst 1000 to clinch the Ford team's 250th podium.

Waters finished second in Race 2 to push Tickford's tally to 251.

Of the 11 teams on the grid, nine have recorded championship podium finishes, with eight winning races.

Podium finishers from 1960 to 2008 were the top three finishes for the round overall.

Since 2009, podiums have been recorded for the top three finishers in each race.

Most championship podiums (current teams)

Podiums Team
414 Triple Eight Race Engineering
264 Dick Johnson Racing
251 Tickford Racing
248 Walkinshaw Andretti United
67 Brad Jones Racing
35 Team Sydney by Tekno
30 Kelly Grove Racing
27 Erebus Motorsport
4 Team 18
0 Matt Stone Racing
0 Blanchard Racing Team
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter