WAU closes on BJR in PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 11/08/2021
  • By James Pavey

Brad Jones Racing remains in the box seat to claim another PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge crown heading into the mid-season break.

The challenge resumed at the last-start WD-40 Townsville SuperSprint, with BJR remaining on top with 124 points.

However, it was Walkinshaw Andretti United which played its hand at Reid Park.

The WAU crew helped Bryce Fullwood take honours for Race 17, with Chaz Mostert taking out Race 18 on the Sunday.

BJR remain the kings of pit lane

With the BP Ultimate Safety Car deployed in Race 19, only Races 17 and 18 contributed to the PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge point score.

The Race 17 and Race 18 wins helped WAU vault from fourth to second, with the Shell V-Power Racing Team dropping to third.

Tickford Racing’s crew on the Cameron Waters and James Courtney cars moved up to fourth, with Red Bull Ampol Racing dropping from third to fifth.

Other teams and positions remain relatively unchanged, with Team 18 sixth ahead of Matt Stone Racing seventh.

BJR will look to extend its lead atop the standings at Winton Motor Raceway when the season resumes in October.

PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge leaderboard after Round 7

1) Brad Jones Racing (Nick Percat & Todd Hazelwood), 124 points
2) Walkinshaw Andretti United (Chaz Mostert & Bryce Fullwood), 101 points
3) Shell V-Power Racing Team (Anton De Pasquale & Will Davison), 94 points
4) Tickford Racing (Cameron Waters & James Courtney), 91 points
5) Red Bull Ampol Racing (Jamie Whincup & Shane van Gisbergen), 88 points
6) Team 18 (Mark Winterbottom & Scott Pye), 78 points
7) Matt Stone Racing (Jake Kostecki & Zane Goddard), 62 points
8) Erebus Motorsport (Will Brown & Brodie Kostecki), 54 points
9) Brad Jones Racing (Jack Smith & Macauley Jones), 53 points
10) CoolDrive Racing & Tickford Racing (Tim Slade & Jack Le Brocq), 48 points
11) Kelly Grove Racing (Andre Heimgartner & David Reynolds), 35 points
12) Team Sydney (Fabian Coulthard & Garry Jacobson), 30 points

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter