Waters climbs exclusive winners list with Townsville double

  • Repco Supercars Championship Dunlop Super2 Series
  • |
  • 24/09/2021
  • By James Pavey

Cameron Waters’ winning double at the WD-40 Townsville SuperSprint helped him climb an exclusive list of drivers.

Of 81 drivers to have won an ATCC/Supercars Championship race, 26 have also won Super2 races.

Waters won two races in Townsville in July to take his career main game wins tally to five.

He entered the weekend on three main game wins, level with fellow Super2 race winners Steve Owen, Lee Holdsworth and Paul Morris.

By weekend’s end, Waters had jumped past Jonathon Webb and Nick Percat, who have won four championship races each.

Andre Heimgartner became the latest driver to do the Super2-Supercars winning double in Tailem Bend in May.

Heimgartner claimed his first main game win in his 161st start, seven years after he clinched his sole Super2 win in Perth for MW Motorsport.

Former Super2 aces Jack Le Brocq and Anton De Pasquale both won their first main game races last year.

Le Brocq is eighth all-time for Super2 race wins with 11, one fewer than the 12 recorded by 2015 champion Waters.

Scott McLaughlin and Mark Winterbottom are by far the most successful Super2 exports, combining for 94 main game race wins, two Bathurst 1000 victories and four drivers’ titles.

Chaz Mostert is the only other former Super2 race winner to score 10 or more Supercars race wins.

McLaughlin won Super2 (2012) and Supercars (2018-20) titles

Two more wins for Waters, and he’ll draw level with two-time Super2 champion Paul Dumbrell on seven Supercars race wins.

Dumbrell is by far and away the most successful Super2 driver in history with 41 wins. He also won the 2012 Bathurst 1000 with Jamie Whincup, as well as the Sandown 500 in 2013, 2014 and 2018.

Current main game full-time drivers Garry Jacobson, Todd Hazelwood, Bryce Fullwood, Brodie Kostecki and Will Brown can all join the list if they score a win.

A host of Super2 race winners - Holdsworth, Webb, David Russell, Jack Perkins, Michael Caruso, Luke Youlden, James Moffat, Thomas Randle, Dale Wood, Chris Pither, Tony D'Alberto, Tim Blanchard and James Golding - will all feature as co-drivers at the Repco Bathurst 1000.

Most Supercars Championship wins for Super2 race winners

56 main game wins: Scott McLaughlin** (5 Super2 wins)
38: Mark Winterbottom* (8)
15: Chaz Mostert* (5)
7: Paul Dumbrell (41)
5: Cameron Waters* (12)
4: Nick Percat* (6)
4: Jonathon Webb** (8)
3: Steve Owen (20)
3: Lee Holdsworth** (2)
3: Paul Morris (2)
2: Dean Canto (21)
2: Michael Caruso** (6)
2: James Moffat** (5)
2: David Besnard (4)
2: Cameron McConville (2)
2: Anton De Pasquale* (2)
2: Tim Slade* (1)
1: Jack Le Brocq* (11)
1: Simon Wills (10)
1: Jack Perkins** (7)
1: Luke Youlden** (5)
1: Greg Ritter (2)
1: Scott Pye* (2)
1: Andre Heimgartner* (2)
1: Jason Richards (1)
1: Richie Stanaway** (1)

*2021 Repco Supercars Championship full-time driver

**2021 Repco Bathurst 1000 co-driver

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter