Van Gisbergen determined to be final Holden winner

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 01/11/2022
  • By James Pavey

Shane van Gisbergen is determined to be final race winner in a Holden, and knows Ford drivers will be out to spoil the brand's farewell.

The Commodore will make its final race starts in Supercars at next month’s VALO Adelaide 500.

Holden and the Commodore will be replaced by Chevrolet and the Camaro from 2023.

Van Gisbergen won his 74th and 75th career races on the Gold Coast last weekend.

The champion-elect's Sunday win was his 73rd in a Commodore.

Only Jamie Whincup (91), Craig Lowndes (85) and Mark Skaife (80) won more races in Holdens.

It has been a memorable year for Holden, with the brand bringing up 600 ATCC/Supercars wins and a 36th Bathurst win.

The man at the centre of it all has been van Gisbergen, who has won a record 21 races from 32 starts.

Van Gisbergen is committed to ended his record-breaking campaign on a winning note, and sending Holden out on top.

It comes after the 33-year-old helped Holden win its final ever Bathurst 1000 start.

Last month, van Gisbergen and Garth Tander dominated the Repco Bathurst 1000.

Van Gisbergen has won all three titles, 73 of 75 races and two Bathursts in Commodores.

Key to van Gisbergen’s Adelaide weekend is preventing Ford drivers from spoiling the brand’s swansong.

"I want to win more races,” he said of his 2022 campaign.

“So for sure we can go to Adelaide as a celebration and have a good time.

"We also have the chance to celebrate Holden, that’s going to mean a lot to our team and GM.

“We want to go out with a good result. Everyone wants to be the last Holden winner.

“The Ford guys probably want to spoil that, so I’ll be there prepared but also ready to party."

Two races remain in the 2022 Repco Supercars Championship.

The VALO Adelaide 500 will end the year with dual 250km, 78-lap races.

Most ATCC/Supercars race wins for Holden

91: Jamie Whincup
85: Craig Lowndes
80: Mark Skaife
73: Shane van Gisbergen
57: Garth Tander
46: Peter Brock

2022 Supercars Champion Manufacturer standings (after Race 32)

25: Holden
7: Ford

2022 winning drivers

21: Shane van Gisbergen
4: Chaz Mostert
3: Will DavisonCam Waters
1: Anton De Pasquale

Supercars Champion Manufacturer awards

1999: Holden
2000: Holden
2001: Holden
2002: Holden
2003: Ford
2004: Holden
2005: Ford
2006: Ford
2007: Holden
2008: Ford
2009: Ford
2010: Holden
2011: Holden
2012: Holden
2013: Holden
2014: Holden
2015: Holden
2016: Holden
2017: Ford
2018: Holden
2019: Ford
2020: Ford
2021: Holden
2022: Holden

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter