V8 Supercars icons honoured

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 20/03/2016
  • By V8 Supercars

Current V8 Supercars driver James Courtney was one of many great Australian names inducted into the Motor Sport Hall of Fame in Melbourne last night.

Courtney was honoured alongside iconic touring car racers Peter Brock, Dick Johnson, Allan Moffat, Harry Firth and Bob Jane at the awards ceremony. 

Thirty Australian legends formed the inaugural inductee group with the iconic names sharing 29 World Championships and 50 Australian Championships.

Allan Moffat Hall of Fame 2016

The Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame is an initiative from the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS).

Australian legends from Formula 1, circuit racing, Speedway, Rallying, off-road, drag racing, karting and motorcycling formed part of the inaugural group.

The gala affair took place last night in Melbourne over the Formula 1 Rolex Australian grand Prix weekend and was attended by 500 family and friends of inductees, industry identities and motorsport enthusiasts.

The emotion in the room was raw with many stories of days gone by being regaled by the inductees – or those accepting on behalf of those who have departed us.

One of the most emotional moments came with the final inductee – 1980 Formula 1 World Champion, Alan Jones being presented with a replica of his FIA World Championship Trophy by Clare Williams – the daughter of Sir Frank Williams and Deputy Team Principal, Williams Formula 1. The original trophy was stolen from Jones’ collection many years ago.

Reigning FIA Formula 1 World Champion Lewis Hamilton made a surprise appearance and paid tribute to the role of Australia’s heroes in the development of the sport internationally. 

Current FIA World Endurance Champion Mark Webber surprised his friend - three times F.I.M. World Speedway Champion, Jason Crump by presenting him on stage with his induction medal.

The induction included many of Australia’s best known World Champions, including Sir Jack Brabham, Mick Doohan, Jason Crump, Troy Bayliss and Casey Stoner, among others.

Chairman of the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame Garry Connelly was ecstatic with the evening and the representation of the sport across the board.

“Never before have the icons of Australian motorsport been showcased in such a spectacular fashion,” said Connelly. “To have 30 worthy inductees across every single discipline of the sport in this country represented in one room is a special feeling.”

Brocks Hall of Fame 2016

The full list of inductees

Formula 1:

Sir Jack Brabham - 3 time Formula 1 World Champion

Alan Jones - 1980 Formula 1 World Champion

Phil Irving - Designer, Repco Formula 1 World Champion Engine

Circuit Racing:

Harry Firth - Bathurst Champion, patriarch, Holden Dealer Team

Bob Jane - Bathurst and Australian Touring Car Champion, Australian NASCAR founder, circuit owner

Peter Brock - 9 Times Bathurst 1000 Champion, 3 time Australian Touring Car Champion

Dick Johnson - 5 Time Australian Touring Car Champion and three time Bathurst 1000 victor

Allan Moffat - 4 time Australian Touring Car and 4 time Bathurst 1000 winner

Frank Matich - Australian Open-Wheel and Motorsport Engineering icon 


Lionel van Praag - 1936 World Speedway Champion - the first motorsport World Champion

Jack Young - 2 time World Speedway Champion

Jason Crump - 3 times World Speedway Champion

Kel Carruthers - 1969 250cc World Champion, Isle of Man 250TT Champion

Wayne Gardner - 1987 500cc World Champion

Mick Doohan - 5 times 500cc World Champion

Casey Stoner - 2 time MotoGP World Champion

Gregg Hansford - 10 times Grand Prix winner, Bathurst 1000 (touring car) winner

Troy Bayliss - 3 times World Superbike Champion

Stephen Gall - 5 times Australian Motocross Champion, 4 times Mr. Motocross, Australian Speedcar Champion

Jeff Leisk - World Junior Motocross Champion, 2 times Australian Motocross Champion


Ray Revell - 5 times Australian Speedcar Champion

Garry Rush - 10 times Australian Sprintcar Champion


‘Gelignite’ Jack Murray - REDeX Trial winner, London to Sydney Marathon pioneer

Colin Bond - 3 times Australian Rally Champion, Bathurst 500 Champion, Australian Touring Car Champion

Ross Dunkerton - 5 times Australian Rally Champion, Asia-Pacific Rally Champion


James Courtney - 2 times World Karting Champion, V8 Supercars Champion

Drag Racing:

Ash Marshall - Australian Drag Racing Pioneer


Mark Burrows - 7 Australian Off-Road Championships, 5 Finke Desert Race wins 

Land Speed:

Norman ‘Wizard’ Smith - Australian Land Speed Record Pioneer

Administrative Services:

Donald Kingsley Thompson - Co-Founder & inaugural President, Confederation of Australian Motor Sport

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter