The SVG milestone that went unnoticed

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 09/08/2022
  • By James Pavey

Amid all his winning this season, Shane van Gisbergen earned himself a slice of Kiwi Supercars history.

Van Gisbergen’s start in the OTR SuperSprint was his 472nd in Supercars.

He is now the most experienced New Zealander in ATCC/Supercars history regarding race starts.

Van Gisbergen made his debut as a teenager for Team Kiwi Racing at Oran Park in 2007.

Race 23 at The Bend took van Gisbergen past Fabian Coulthard, who is on 471 starts.

Coulthard will make start No. 472 when he lines up alongside Chaz Mostert in Bathurst in October.

Van Gisbergen made his debut in 2007 Pic: AN1 Images

Coulthard still edges van Gisbergen in the round stakes, albeit by four.

Van Gisbergen and Coulthard will end the season on 215 rounds apiece.

Van Gisbergen overtook Scott McLaughlin as the winningest Kiwi in Supercars history earlier this year.

McLaughlin began the year two wins ahead; van Gisbergen is now 12 wins ahead.

Van Gisbergen is now chasing McLaughlin’s season wins record of 18 set in 2019.

Should van Gisbergen win this year’s championship, he will also equal McLaughlin’s title tally of three.

Hall of Famer Jim Richards leads the way, having won four ATCC crowns in the 1980s and 1990s.

Van Gisbergen will make round start No. 211 at Sandown next week, where he won all three races last year.

The 2022 season will resume at Sandown on August 19-21. Purchase your tickets now.

Most ATCC/Supercars races by New Zealand drivers*

472: Shane van Gisbergen
471: Fabian Coulthard
460: Steven Richards
442: Greg Murphy
281: Jason Richards
252: Scott McLaughlin
230: Paul Radisich
168: Jim Richards

Most ATCC/Supercars rounds by New Zealand drivers*

214: Fabian Coulthard
210: Shane van Gisbergen
207: Steven Richards
200: Greg Murphy
136: Jim Richards
133: Jason Richards
115: Scott McLaughlin
107: Paul Radisich

Most ATCC/Supercars wins by New Zealand drivers*

68: Shane van Gisbergen
54: Scott McLaughlin
28: Greg Murphy
23: Jim Richards
13: Fabian Coulthard
10: Steven Richards
8: Paul Radisich
5: Robbie Francevic

*Correct to 2022 OTR SuperSprint

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter