The one-lap specialists: Sandown speed breakdown

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 25/03/2021
  • By James Pavey

Despite Sunday’s rain, the pace was hot at the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint.

Nine of the quickest 10 race laps across the three 36-lap sprints were logged in Saturday afternoon’s Race 3 thriller.

Chaz Mostert, who was the fast man in practice at Mount Panorama, again showed how much pace is the #25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Commodore.

Mostert scored pole for Race 3 in the knockout session, pipping Cameron Waters to P1 with a 1:07.630s.

The 28-year-old’s Q2 time was also the fifth quickest of the three-part session.

Mostert also scored the quickest race lap of the weekend, firing in a 1:08.554s on lap 10 after taking on new tyres in Race 3.

He eventually finished sixth, with his rivals racing past him on fresher rubber late in the race, Shane van Gisbergen completing a remarkable 17th-to-first victory.

Van Gisbergen set the third quickest race lap of the weekend in his stunning charge.

Sandwiched between Mostert and van Gisbergen was Jamie Whincup, who regained form after a lowly Bathurst showing.

Whincup’s run to third in Race 4 on Sunday, which began in the wet, featured a 1:08.876s flyer on lap 28.

Race 5, held in entirely wet conditions, saw van Gisbergen log a 1:18.607s best to score the additional five championship points.

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to Symmons Plains for the Beaurepaires Tasmania SuperSprint across April 10-11. Tickets are on sale now.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo.

Fastest practice laps

Session Driver Time
P2 Cameron Waters 1:07.912
P2 Mark Winterbottom 1:07.917
P1 Jamie Whincup 1:08.070
P2 Anton De Pasquale 1:08.139
P2 Chaz Mostert 1:08.147
P1 Cameron Waters 1:08.159
P2 Shane van Gisbergen 1:08.182
P2 James Courtney 1:08.182
P2 Jack Le Brocq 1:08.216
P2 Scott Pye 1:08.244

Fastest qualifying laps

Session Driver Time
R3/Q3 Chaz Mostert 1:07.630
R3/Q3 Cameron Waters 1:07.675
R3/Q3 Jamie Whincup 1:07.788
R3/Q3 Mark Winterbottom 1:07.855
R3/Q2 Chaz Mostert 1:07.881
R3/Q2 Mark Winterbottom 1:07.944
R3/Q3 Jack Le Brocq 1:07.964
R3/Q2 Jamie Whincup 1:08.033
R3/Q3 Anton De Pasquale 1:08.036
R3/Q2 Jack Le Brocq 1:08.118

Fastest race laps

Session Driver Time
R3 Chaz Mostert 1:08.554 (lap 10)
R4 Jamie Whincup 1:08.876 (lap 28)
R3 Shane van Gisbergen 1:08.913 (lap 27)
R3 Zane Goddard 1:08.965 (lap 10)
R3 Will Brown 1:08.972 (lap 11)
R3 Cameron Waters 1:08.972 (lap 7)
R3 Anton De Pasquale 1:08.889 (lap 14)
R3 Jamie Whincup 1:09.002 (lap 10)
R3 Mark Winterbottom 1:09.008 (lap 10)
R3 Tim Slade 1:09.084 (lap 25)

Key: Practice (P); Qualifying (Q); Top Ten Shootout (TT); Race (R)

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter