The full 2019 Supercars driver line-up

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 12/02/2019
  • By Mitchell Adam

The 24-driver field that will tackle the 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship is set.

Kelly Racing completed the picture, with the recent announcements Andre Heimgartner and Garry Jacobson will drive its last two Altimas.

Jacobson replaces Michael Caruso and will be one of two rookies in the field, along with fellow Dunlop Super2 Series graduate Macauley Jones.

The son of team owner Brad, Jones steps into the BJR-run Team CoolDrive Commodore vacated by Tim Blanchard at the end of 2018.

Blanchard and Caruso are joined in moving back from full-time competition by Craig Lowndes and Garth Tander, from Triple Eight and Garry Rogers Motorsport respectively.

Lowndes retired and Triple Eight parks its third entry, while Tander was moved on to accommodate Richie Stanaway last month.

Relative stability means 18 drivers will race with the same team as in 2018.

Tickford Racing joins Triple Eight in handing back a Racing Entitlements Contract, but brings customer 23Red Racing and Will Davison in-house to continue running four cars.

Stanaway drove Tickford's fourth entry last year, but is one of only four drivers – including Davison – changing squads.

The others are effectively a straight swap between Tickford and Team 18, with Mark Winterbottom and Lee Holdsworth trading places and brands.

For the second time in three years, the #1 will not be carried by the defending champion.

Scott McLaughlin has opted to continue with Dick Johnson's famous #17, which will adorn one of six new Ford Mustangs on the grid.

They are joined by a total of 14 ZB Holden Commodores and four Nissan Altimas, now being run under the Kelly Racing banner.

Drivers and teams will ramp up their preparations on Thursday at Phillip Island, in the pre-season test.

The full 2019 Supercars field, with teams listed in pitlane order

# Driver Team Car
88 Jamie Whincup Triple Eight Race Engineering Holden
97 Shane van Gisbergen Triple Eight Race Engineering Holden
12 Fabian Coulthard DJR Team Penske Ford
17 Scott McLaughlin DJR Team Penske Ford
5 Lee Holdsworth Tickford Racing Ford
6 Cameron Waters Tickford Racing Ford
55 Chaz Mostert Tickford Racing Ford
23 Will Davison 23Red Racing Ford
9 David Reynolds Erebus Motorsport Holden
99 Anton De Pasquale Erebus Motorsport Holden
2 Scott Pye Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden
22 James Courtney Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden
8 Nick Percat Brad Jones Racing Holden
14 Tim Slade Brad Jones Racing Holden
21 Macauley Jones Tim Blanchard Racing Holden
35 Todd Hazelwood Matt Stone Racing Holden
3 Garry Jacobson Kelly Racing Nissan
7 Andre Heimgartner Kelly Racing Nissan
15 Rick Kelly Kelly Racing Nissan
78 Simona De Silvestro Kelly Racing Nissan
33 Richie Stanaway Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden
34 James Golding Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden
19 Jack Le Brocq Tekno Autosports Holden
18 Mark Winterbottom Team 18 Holden
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter