The Brock record in Lowndes and Ingall's sights

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 03/09/2021
  • By James Pavey

Craig Lowndes and Russell Ingall will make their 28th and 26th Bathurst starts this year, and there’ll be added weight for both of them.

Both Lowndes and Ingall won their first Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars races in 1996.

Should either driver win this year’s Repco Bathurst 1000, they’ll claim a record from a very famous name.

The legendary Brock holds the distinction of having the longest time between his first ATCC race win and his last.

Brock at Sandown in 1980 Pic: AN1 Images

In May 1973, Brock won his very first ATCC race at the now defunct Surfers Paradise Raceway in Queensland.

Brock's breakthrough came after he won the Bathurst 500 the previous October.

With the creation of what became known as 'Group C’ rules, Brock contested the ATCC for the first time for Harry Firth’s Holden Dealer Team.

Another 47 championship race wins would follow, the last of which came at Sydney’s Oran Park in 1997.

Ingall last won in 2005 at Oran Park

With Race 1 win at Oran Park, Brock had extended his winning interval to 24 years.

If Lowndes or Ingall win the Bathurst 1000 this year, their win intervals will extend to 25 years.

Should Ingall win his third Great Race, he will also end a 16-year personal win drought.

Ingall last claimed a race win in 2005, also at Oran Park.

Lowndes, who retired from full-time competition in 2018, won the 2019 Sandown 500 alongside Jamie Whincup in his first year as a co-driver.

Murphy wins at Pukekohe in 2005

Lowndes also won in Tasmania and Bathurst in his final year as a full-time competitor.

Of the 81 drivers to have won an ATCC/Supercars race, 60 have won two or more races.

Of those 60 drivers, 20 took wins across a interval of 10 years or more.

There will be several drivers on this year’s Bathurst grid who can extend their win intervals to over a decade.

Last year, Tander (L) extended his winning interval to 21 years

Nick Percat won the 2011 Bathurst 1000 alongside Garth Tander, who holds the third-longest ever win interval.

Greg Murphy will make a highly-anticipated wildcard appearance in Bathurst, with his last race win coming on the Gold Coast in 2005.

Murphy’s interval (1997-2005) could blow out from eight to 24 years with a fifth Great Race victory.

Will Davison and James Courtney both won their first races in 2008, but both haven’t won a race since 2016.

Lee Holdsworth (2007-2014), Jonathon Webb (2010-2016) and Michael Caruso (2009-2016) will also be eyeing Bathurst success as co-drivers.

Longest win intervals in ATCC/Supercars (10 years or more)

24 years: Peter Brock (1973-1997)

23 years: Craig Lowndes* (1996-2019)

21 years: Garth Tander* (1999-2020)

20 years: Mark Skaife (1991-2011)

19 years: Steven Richards (1999-2018)

17 years: Jim Richards (1985-2002)

15 years: Jamie Whincup* (2006-2021), Jason Bright (1999-2014), Rick Kelly (2003-2018), Colin Bond (1975-1990)

14 years: Allan Moffat (1970-1984), Dick Johnson (1981-1995), Ian Geoghegan (1964-1978)

13 years: Glenn Seton (1987-2000), Tony Longhurst (1988-2001), Paul Morris (2001-2014)

12 years: Mark Winterbottom* (2006-2018)

11 years: John Bowe (1988-1999)

10 years: Shane van Gisbergen* (2011-2021), Bob Jane (1962-1972)

*Confirmed to drive at this year's Repco Bathurst 1000

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter