The big winners from ATCC/Supercars' first 999

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 16/03/2019
  • By Mitchell Adam

This afternoon's second leg of the Beaurepaires Melbourne 400 will be the 1,000th race of the Australian Touring Car Championship/Virgin Australia Supercars Championship.

The very first was held at Gnoo Blas on February 1, 1960 with David McKay taking the honours and the maiden ATCC title aboard a Jaguar.

A move to multiple races per year came in 1969, with 78 drivers having greeted the chequered flag through the first 999 points races.

How do the record books look ahead of the milestone 1,000th start? runs through the key statistics.

Most race wins - drivers

Mark Skaife, Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup have all spent time as the Supercars driver with the most race wins in the last decade.

Skaife led the way until the Barbagallo Raceway event in 2013, when Lowndes claimed his 91st victory.

Lowndes duly became the first to reach 100 wins two years later, with Whincup then passing his long-time team-mate in 2017 en route to his seventh championship.

Just outside the top 10, three wins to start the 2019 season have taken Scott McLaughlin's tally to 28, drawing level with Greg Murphy and Marcos Ambrose in equal 12th.

His next target is team owner Dick Johnson on 30.

1. Jamie Whincup 113
2. Craig Lowndes 107
3. Mark Skaife 90
4. Garth Tander 54
5. Peter Brock 48
6. Glenn Seton 40
7. Mark Winterbottom 38
8. Allan Moffat 36
=9. John Bowe and Shane van Gisbergen 31

Most race wins - teams

Including all of Whincup's victories, Triple Eight has built an imposing Supercars record since entering the championship in late-2003.

At Tailem Bend last August, it became the winningest team in the championship, passing the former Holden Racing Team, run by what's now Walkinshaw Andretti United.

DJR Team Penske sits third, claiming 81 under its original Dick Johnson Racing guise, before piling on a further 25 more since early-2017.

The top four are all active outfits, with the next best Garry Rogers Motorsport in 12th, on 23.

1. Triple Eight Race Engineering 184
2. Holden Racing Team/Walkinshaw Andretti United 180
3. Dick Johnson Racing/DJR Team Penske 106
4. Tickford Racing (FPR/PRA) 71
5. Kmart Racing/HSV Dealer Team 50
6. Gibson/00 Motorsport 47
7. Glenn Seton Racing/Ford Tickford Racing 42
8. Stone Brothers Racing 41
=9. Allan Moffat Racing and Holden Dealer Team 38

Most race wins - models

Holden's current ZB Commodore has big shoes to fill, with its predecessor the VF the most-successful model to have ever raced in Supercars.

Introduced with the Car of the Future platform in 2013 and replaced by the ZB last year, the VF claimed 108 race wins at an average of 18 per season.

The VE was raced between 2007 and '12, while the VT had a comparatively short life of only two full seasons – 1999, above in Adelaide with Lowndes, and 2000 – as Holden’s leading weapon.

1. Holden Commodore VF 108
2. Holden Commodore VE/VEII 103
3. Holden Commodore VT 63
4. Ford Falcon FG 55
5. Ford Falcon BA 51
=6. Holden Commodore VX and Ford Falcon FG X 45
8. Ford Falcon BF 39
9. Holden Commodore VZ 37
10. Holden Commodore VS 35

Wins by brand

Holden enjoys a comfortable advantage over Ford on victories by manufacturers in ATCC/Supercars history.

The traditional rivals are split by 184 wins, with daylight back to the rest led by Nissan.

Norm Beechey took Holden's first win in 1969 at Surfers Paradise with a Monaro, above

1. Holden 548
2. Ford 364
3. Nissan 31
4. BMW 17
5. Volvo 11
6. Chevrolet 10
7. Mazda 8
8. Jaguar 4
=9. Porsche and Mercedes-AMG 2
11. Alfa Romeo 1

Most podium finishes

As with race wins, Whincup and Lowndes lead the way here, with Mark Winterbottom in third place.

Shane van Gisbergen moved past Garth Tander in the order in Adelaide earlier this month, and looks set to surpass Peter Brock in the coming months.

McLaughlin, with his strong start to 2019, has edged ahead of Johnson on this tally.

1. Jamie Whincup 198
2. Craig Lowndes 166
3. Mark Winterbottom 117
4. Peter Brock 100
5. Shane van Gisbergen 96
6. Garth Tander 95
7. Mark Skaife 88
8. Scott McLaughlin 66
9. Dick Johnson 65
10. James Courtney 58

Most race starts

The grid looks a little different in 2019 with the full-time retirements of veterans Lowndes and Tander.

That leaves Rick Kelly as the active driver with the most starts on 525, 52 ahead of Winterbottom.

1. Craig Lowndes 650
2. Garth Tander 617
3. Russell Ingall 587
4. Jason Bright 573
5. Todd Kelly 541
6. Rick Kelly 525
7. Mark Skaife 479
8. Mark Winterbottom 473
9. John Bowe 470
10. Jamie Whincup 468

Youngest winner
Scott McLaughlin, 19 years, 10 months, three days

McLaughlin made a mark early in his Supercars career, winning at Pukekohe in the sixth race of his 2013 rookie campaign with Garry Rogers Motorsport.

Oldest winner
Jim Richards, 55 years, one month, 11 days

Supercars Hall of Famer Richards holds a record that is unlikely to be beaten, with a trend towards younger drivers.

His Bathurst 1000 victory in 2002 with Mark Skaife and the Holden Racing Team came after his 55th birthday.

It is one of his 23 championship race wins, with Richards' other six Bathurst wins coming before the Great Race took on points-paying status.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter