Terrific Triple Eight: Townsville speed breakdown

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 14/07/2021
  • By James Pavey

The NTI Townsville 500 was a tale of two teammates, with Shane van Gisbergen and Jamie Whincup the class of the field.

Van Gisbergen won both races and claimed the Saturday pole, with Whincup scoring pole on Sunday.

The only thing the Red Bull Ampol Racing duo failed to claim was the quickest race lap of the weekend.

That honour went to Chaz Mostert, who clocked a 1:13.424s in the final stint of Sunday's race.

The top 10 quickest practice laps on Friday were all from the afternoon session, which van Gisbergen topped with a 1:12.381s.

Whincup emerged with the quickest lap in the ARMOR ALL Qualifying stakes, with Sunday's qualifying session quicker than Saturday's corresponding session.

The six quickest qualifying laps came from Race 16 qualifying, with Whincup and van Gisbergen's Top Ten Shootout laps next best.

Whincup's Sunday shootout time was a mere 0.002s quicker than van Gisbergen's Saturday effort.

Scott McLaughlin's qualifying record (1:11.990s) and Nick Percat's race lap record (1:12.931s) both remained intact.

Van Gisbergen recorded the quickest race lap on Saturday, albeit in the opening laps as he chased Whincup.

The 2021 Repco Supercars Championship will continue at this weekend’s WD-40 Townsville SuperSprint. Tickets are available here.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo.

Fastest practice laps

Session Driver Time
P2 Shane van Gisbergen 1:12.381
P2 Will Davison 1:12.504
P2 Cameron Waters 1:12.516
P2 Jack Le Brocq 1:12.544
P2 Nick Percat 1:12.577
P2 Jamie Whincup 1:12.578
P2 Anton De Pasquale 1:12.610
P2 Will Brown 1:12.635
P2 David Reynolds 1:12.711
P2 Chaz Mostert 1:12.768

Fastest qualifying laps

Session Driver Time
Q16 Jamie Whincup 1:12.019
Q16 Shane van Gisbergen 1:12.025
Q16 Cameron Waters 1:12.164
Q16 Will Brown 1:12.239
Q16 Anton De Pasquale 1:12.250
Q16 David Reynolds 1:12.272
Q15 Shane van Gisbergen 1:12.280
TTSO16 Jamie Whincup 1:12.310
TTSO15 Shane van Gisbergen 1:12.312
Q16 Nick Percat 1:12.334

Fastest race laps

Session Driver Time
R16 Chaz Mostert 1:13.424 (lap 63)
R15 Shane van Gisbergen 1:13.631 (lap 4)
R15 Jamie Whincup 1:13.756 (lap 4)
R16 Shane van Gisbergen 1:13.804 (lap 5)
R16 Jamie Whincup 1:13.817 (lap 6)
R16 Garry Jacobson 1:13.827 (lap 59)
R15 Fabian Coulthard 1:13.838 (lap 64)
R15 James Courtney 1:13.853 (lap 4)
R15 Will Brown 1:13.871 (lap 22)
R16 Scott Pye 1:13.921 (lap 30)
Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter