Terrific Triple Eight: Red Bull livery history

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 29/01/2021
  • By James Pavey

Red Bull cars have graced the Supercars grid since 2013, when Triple Eight Race Engineering signed a deal with the energy drinks giant.

It has been a fruitful relationship, with Triple Eight and Red Bull combining for four drivers' titles, five teams' championships and two Bathurst 1000 victories.

With Red Bull no stranger to striking liveries, Triple Eight has made its cars look the real deal, with the Banyo squad honoured with best presented team awards in 2013, 2014 and 2016.

In 2021, Red Bull colours return with Triple Eight for a ninth season, with the team rebranded as Red Bull Ampol Racing following the step up by the petroleum company.

It all began in 2013, with Red Bull taking over naming rights of the Holden powerhouse from Vodafone. The navy blue and silver scheme was an instant success, with Jamie Whincup claiming a third straight championship.

Whincup added a record sixth title in 2014, winning 14 races alongside Craig Lowndes' three. Gone was the silver, with yellow a more prominent feature.

Triple Eight did change it up for Bathurst in 2014, with the team celebrating the Royal Australian Air Force. Both cars could have won the race, with Whincup famously running out of fuel on the final lap.

Silver returned in 2015, with Lowndes claiming a sixth Bathurst victory with Steven Richards en route to second in the championship behind Mark Winterbottom.

A highly successful 2016 season saw the team finish first and second, with Shane van Gisbergen winning the title in his first season with Triple Eight. The year featured an historic trip to Summernats, 15 wins for Red Bull cars, and a crushing teams' title.

The 2017 saw a seventh title for Whincup claimed on a matte blue and red finish. The year was Triple Eight's first as the factory Holden Racing Team.

The team also took inspiration from the Holden Dealer Team Monaros and Toranas of the late 1960s and early 1970s for the 2017 retro round at Sandown.

In 2018, the team radically changed its look, with white and a lighter shade of blue featuring on the new ZB Commodore.

The white remained on a tweaked livery in 2019, with van Gisbergen and Whincup finishing second and third overall behind rampant champions Scott McLaughlin and DJR Team Penske.

For the 2019 Bathurst 1000, the team celebrated Peter Brock and Colin Bond's 1971 Sandown 250 and Bathurst 500 Holden Toranas. The brilliant red and white livery also celebrated Holden's 50th anniversary of factory involvement in motorsport.

The 2020 livery was an evolution of the 2019 scheme, with splashes of light blue and the Holden signage on a white background across the rear doors.

In 2021, a greater white-based scheme sees Ampol take precedence on the rear of the car as it links with Red Bull in co-naming rights from this year.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter