TEKNO leads Pirtek Enduro Cup

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 11/10/2016
  • By Kassie Gadeke

TEKNO Autosports’ Will Davison and Jonathon Webb lead the PIRTEK Enduro Cup after their dramatic Bathurst win.

Davison and Webb have swept to a six-point lead in the 2016 Supercars PIRTEK Enduro Cup after the weekend's Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Second place getters at Bathurst and Sandown Shane van Gisbergen and Alex Premat slot in behind, with Nick Percat and Cameron McConville also in the frame after their third place finish.

The Bathurst win brings Webb to three all-time PIRTEK Enduro Cup race wins and he has elevated himself to be at the top of the winners list alongside Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell since the trophy was introduced. 

With 150 points per 300km race available on the Gold Coast, there are 14 combinations in with a mathematical shot of winning the PIRTEK Enduro Cup.

Defending winners, Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander and Warren Luff, could mathematically do it, despite the late race incident that ruled them out of a Bathurst win – but it is a long shot for the pair. 

It stages for a dramatic conclusion to the fourth edition of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship-within-a-Championship, where the teams are chasing the iconic trophy constructed from 400 parts out of the PIRTEK catalogue.

The Pirtek Enduro Cup will be decided at the Castrol Gold Coast 600 which kicks off on Friday next week.

“The focus now switches to the Gold Coast and the PIRTEK Enduro Cup,” Webb said after Sunday’s race. 

“Shane and I have won a few races together in that – but now we have the lead – Will and I have to focus on getting one over on him (van Gisbergen) and adding the Cup to the Peter Brock Trophy." 

PIRTEK ENDURO CUP POINTS - Top 10 after two of three events:

1. Davison/Webb - 558 points
2. Van Gisbergen/Premat - 552
3. Percat/McConville - 426
4. Coulthard/Youlden - 408
5. Pye/D'Alberto – 342
6. McLaughlin/Wall - 335
7. Mostert/Owen - 318
8. Slade/Walsh - 306
9. Caruso/Fiore - 306
10. Waters/Le Brocq - 306

Click here for the full listing. 

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter