SVG top points scorer at SMP

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 26/08/2014
  • By V8 Supercars

With wins in both Saturday races at the Sydney Motorsport Park 400, TEKNO Autosports' Shane van Gisbergen bagged the most points at the final Super Sprint event before the Pirtek Enduro Cup begins.

Outside the top five heading to the event, stunning wet weather driving on Saturday helped catapult him up the table, now sitting fourth, ahead of Kiwi competitor Fabian Coulthard by 66.

However -before the Sydney Motorsport Park 400, the top six were separated by less than 300 points, which can be earned in one race meeting.

Now, it's first to fourth separated by 247, with Coulthard in fifth 313 point sfrom the leader, and sixth placed James Courtney 337 points away.

Courtney had the most difficult run of the top group, with a DNF on Sunday meaning no points on payday, when there are a potential 150 on offer for a win.

At next event, the Wilson Security Sandown 500 -which kicks off the Pirtek Enduro Cup next month, from September 12-14 - the points allocation for the weekend changes, with Sunday's 500km race worth 300.

Saturday will see a qualifying session and two qualifying races -the first for co-drivers, second for main drivers -that will determine grid position for the 500.

Total points earned over Sydney Motorsport Park 400

Most pointsDriverTeamPointsChampionship Position
1.Shane van GisbergenTeam TEKNO VIP Petfoods2464
2.Jamie WhincupRed Bull Racing Australia2351
3.James MoffatNorton Hornets20514
4.Jason BrightTeam BOC20410
5.Nick PercatHHA Racing19015
6.Craig LowndesRed Bull Racing Australia1843
7.Chaz MostertFord Pepsi Max Crew1807
8.Fabian CoulthardLockwood Racing1775
9.Will DavisonErebus Motorsport V817513
10.Michael CarusoNorton Hornets16712
11.Rick KellyJack Daniel's Racing15616
12.Scott McLaughlinValvoline Racing GRM1508
13.Lee HoldsworthErebus Motorsport V813517
14.David WallWilson Security Racing DJR12520
15.Russell IngallRepair Management Racing Aus12419
16.Garth TanderHolden Racing Team1209
17.Mark WinterbottomFord Pepsi Max Crew1152
18.Dale WoodTeam ADVAM/GB Gal10922
19.Jack PerkinsTeam JELD-WEN10623
20.James CourtneyHolden Racing Team906
21.Todd KellyJack Daniel's Racing Australia8724
22.Scott PyeWilson Security Racing DJR4318
23.David ReynoldsThe Bottle-O Racing3311
24.Robert DahlgrenValvoline Racing GRM2425
25.Tim SladeSupercheap Auto Racing021
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter