Supercars history on display in Adelaide

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 01/03/2018
  • By Stefan Bartholomaeus

A collection of classic Supercars is on display at the Adelaide 500 as part of the event’s 20th year celebrations.

Housed in a marquee on the outside of the circuit before the final corner, the celebration of Supercars history features some significant cars.

The headline acts are two Bathurst-winning Triple Eight cars; the 2006 Craig Lowndes/Jamie Whincup Ford and the ‘12 Whincup/Paul Dumbrell Holden.

Retained by Triple Eight, the Betta Electrical Falcon took a popular victory in the 2006 event, after an emotional Lowndes fended off Rick Kelly to claim the Peter Brock Trophy.


It also won a race in Adelaide, taking out the Saturday leg in 2005 with Lowndes at the wheel.

Whincup meanwhile owns the Vodafone Commodore, which is the winningest Supercar of all time with 28 championship race victories.

They included two triumphs in Adelaide; the 2011 Sunday race and the Saturday encounter the following year, held just a week after the passing of Whincup’s father.

Adelaide winners from Garry Rogers Motorsport and the Holden Racing Team are also on display.


GRM has provided the Commodore that Garth Tander won the 2000 event in, which also went on to victory at Bathurst that year, co-driven by Jason Bargwanna.

It sits next to another significant Holden, Todd Kelly’s 2007 HRT entry, which won on the VE’s debut on the Saturday at that year’s Adelaide event.

Another significant Adelaide car, the AU Falcon that Mark Winterbottom used to win the first Super2 race held in Adelaide in 2003, also features.

Other memorable cars include those in which Russell Ingall and Mark Skaife famously clashed at Eastern Creek in 2003.


A selection of the cars will take to the circuit across the weekend for demonstration laps.

The collection was brought together by event organisers and Supercars historian Aaron Noonan's V8 Sleuth business.

Adelaide 500 20 years display

Jamie Whincup’s 2012 Triple Eight Commodore VE II

Craig Lowndes’ 2006 Triple Eight Falcon BA

Steven Johnson's 2002 Dick Johnson Racing Falcon AU


Steve Ellery’s 2002 Supercheap Auto Falcon AU

Jason Richards’ 2003 Team Dynamik Commodore VY


Will Davison’s 2008 Dick Johnson Racing Falcon BF

Craig Lowndes’ 2004 Ford Performance Racing Falcon BA


Mark Skaife’s 2003 Holden Racing Team Commodore VY

Glenn Seton’s 2004 Ford Performance Racing Falcon BA


Russell Ingall’s 2003 Stone Brothers Racing Caltex Falcon BA

Russell Ingall’s 1999 Castrol Perkins Engineering Commodore VT


Garth Tander’s 2000 Garry Rogers Motorsport Commodore VT

Lee Holdsworth’s 2008 Garry Rogers Motorsport Commodore VE


Greg Murphy’s 2005 PWR Supercheap Auto Commodore VZ

David Besnard’s 2002 Stone Brothers Racing Falcon AU


Steven Richards’ 2000 Gibson Motorsport Commodore VT

John Briggs’ 1999 Briggs Motorsport Falcon EL


Lee Holdsworth’s 2012 Stone Brothers Racing FG

Todd Kelly’s 2007 Holden Racing Team Commodore VE

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter