Stewards Summary: Wilson Security Sandown 500

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 13/09/2015
  • By CAMS

Stewards Summary Update #6 (Final): issued Sunday 13th September at 1800hrs.

Matters from Race 24:

The Black Flag was shown to Car #33 A. Premat / S. McLaughlin (PLP) for breach of Rule D12.2.2.2, failing to ensure that a pit stop was carried out safely.

Following an investigation and an admission by Mark Winterbottom Car #5, in that he breached the "End of Race Procedures", burn-out prior to Turn 1, the Stewards imposed a $3,000 fine.

Stewards Summary Update 5: issued Sunday 13th September at 1150hrs.

Matters from Warm up;

The Stewards imposed a fine of $350 on Car #222 Oliver Gavin, for a breach of Rule D12.4.3, Pit Lane speeding at 46 kph.

Stewards Summary Update 4: Saturday, 12 September 2015 at 17:58hrs.

Qualifying Race 2;

The Black Flag was displayed to Car #888 Craig Lowndes (PLP) for careless driving, contact to Car #22 Jack Perkins at Turn 9.

The IO reviewed an incident between Car #33 Scott McLaughlin and Car #99 James Moffat at Turn 4 with no further action taken.

Stewards Summary Update 3: Saturday, 12 September 2015 at 15:02hrs.

Qualifying Race 1:page1image4760

The IO reviewed the following incidents during the race with no further action taken.

  • Contact between Car #34 Chris Pither and Car #7 Alex Buncombe at Turn 9

  • Contact between Car #33 Alexandre Premat and Car #8 Andrew Jones at Turn 9

Qualifying for Qualifying Race 1;

There were no issues

Matters from Practice 4;

There were no issues.

Stewards Summary Update 2: Saturday, 12 September 2015 at 09:41hrs.

Other Matters:page1image4720

Following an investigation and an admission by Marcos Ambrose Car #17, that he breached Rule E 1.3.6, Practice starts are not permitted during Meeting rides, the Stewards imposed the penalty of a fine of $ 5,000, $ 2,500 of which is suspended, upon Marcos Ambrose.

Matters from Practice 3;

There were no issues

Matters from Practice 2;

There were no issues

Matters from Practice 1;

There were no issues

Stewards Update #1 - issued Thursday 10th September at 2222hrs

The Stewards, having reviewed the vision of the incident and having heard evidence from Prodrive Racing (Australia) Pty Ltd and Mark Winterbottom Car #5, Triple Eight Race Engineering Pty Ltd and Craig Lowndes Car #888, and from the Drivers Standards Observer Jason Bargwanna, found that the standard of driving by Car #888, Craig Lowndes was not in breach of rule Schedule B2, Careless Driving.

The protest was dismissed.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter