Steve Horne Appointed Chairman of V8 Supercar Commission

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 27/09/2013
  • By V8 Supercars

One of Australasia’s most decorated motorsport exports has been appointed by the V8 Supercars Commission as its new Chairman.

Celebrated New Zealander Steve Horne takes over from inaugural Commission Chairman Mark Skaife who is moving into a strategic role with V8 Supercars.

In line with the constitution of the Commission, nominations were taken, a short list formed and then a formal vote was taken to fill the roles of Chairman and Independent.

Horne will be joined on the Commission by Neil Crompton who has been appointed as the Independent Commissioner, replacing Chris Lambden in the Independent role.

Together, Horne and Crompton have more than eight decades of motorsport experience at the highest level, Horne as a long-time team manager and Championship winning team owner in the IndyCar Series in the US. Crompton drove for Horne for a short period in the US.

Horne worked his way from mechanic to a race team owner of 25 years, with 95 race wins and 14 Championships in the US. At one time he was team manager at Truesports in the US, winning the 1986 and 1987 IndyCar Championship and the Indianapolis 500 with the legendary Bobby Rahal.

He then went on to establish his own IndyCar team, Tasman Motorsports Group, which quickly became a dominant force in US open wheel racing with 40 wins, 36 pole positions and four Championships in just six years. The team still holds the record for the most wins in Indy Lights history.

“I am delighted the Commission has appointed Steve and Neil to these important positions for the sport,” V8 Supercars CEO James Warburton said.

“Steve is the ideal successor to Mark who has taken the Commission through its first two years with great passion, success and professionalism.

“The role of Commission Chairman needs to be an independent, strong and robust leader. They need to effectively manage the Commission and its process, make the tough decisions, broker compromise where required and be a good communicator. Steve has all of these traits.” 

Horne will integrate his vast experience and leadership into the role.

“I view this role as continuing the great work already done by Mark and the Commission,” Horne said.

“I want to provide a sounding board for key players’ thoughts and ideas, to make strong and sensible decisions and bring a strategic thought process to those key decision making moments.”

Crompton has been an elite driver in V8 Supercars and overseas, a team manager, a commercial manager and more recently known for his expert and in-depth commentary.

“Neil has an amazing depth of knowledge of V8 Supercars which he imparts with great wisdom on and off the television screen,” Warburton said.

“I have met very few people with such an extensive understanding of the industry combined with an amazing passion. Neil will be a great successor to Chris who did such an outstanding job in the first two years of the Commission.”

The term of the Chairman and Independent Commissioner is two years.

They will join current Commission members James Warburton (V8SC), Shane Howard (V8SC), Brad Jones (BJR), Tim Edwards (FPR), Todd Kelly (Nissan Motorsport), Steve Hallam (Walkinshaw – alternate Commissioner) and Damien White (V8SC – alternate Commissioner).

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter