Start last, finish first: How Mostert's Bathurst miracle stacks up

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 24/11/2021
  • By James Pavey

This year marks the seventh anniversary of the remarkable against-the-odds Bathurst win of Chaz Mostert and Paul Morris.

Mostert launched from 25th and last on the grid for the 2014 Great Race after he was excluded from qualifying for ignoring red flags.

It remains the lowest ever starting spot for a Bathurst winner.

The record could be equalled in 2021, with 25 cars slated to enter this year's Repco Bathurst 1000.

In 60 runnings of the Great Race at Mount Panorama, just eight times has the winner started 10th or lower.

Of course, starting positions seldom have a major influence on a 161-lap, 1000km-long race - but Mostert and Morris' efforts remain unbeaten.

Steven Richards holds a unique place in Bathurst history; of his five Bathurst wins, three have come from 12th or worse on the grid.

In celebration of the Mostert/Morris win, lists the 10 lowest grid spots for Bathurst winners after the epic 2014 record-setter.

7th: Colin Bond/Tony Roberts, 1969

Pole-sitter: Ian Geoghegan (finished 5th)

Pic: AN1 Images

Colin Bond and Tony Roberts won the 1969 race for the newly formed Holden Dealer Team, with teammates Peter Brock and Des West finishing third.

The 1969 race was notable as it featured the Bathurst debuts of Brock and Allan Moffat, who would combine for 13 of the next 17 Great Race wins.

9th: Garth Tander/Nick Percat, 2011

Pole-sitter: Greg Murphy (finished 3rd)

Garth Tander and Nick Percat helped the Holden Racing Team to a thrilling win 10 years ago from ninth on the grid.

It was Tander's third Bathurst win, and Percat's first, the latter becoming the first rookie in 34 years to win the Great Race.

9th: Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards, 2018

Pole-sitter: David Reynolds (finished 13th)

Craig Lowndes and Steven Richards dominated the 2018 race late on after David Reynolds infamously succumbed to cramping.

It was the seventh win for Lowndes, and the fifth for Richards.

It was also their second as a driver pairing following their 2015 victory.

10th: Dick Johnson/John Bowe, 1994

Pole-sitter: Glenn Seton (DNF)

Pic: AN1 Images

A 20-year-old Craig Lowndes was beaten by John Bowe and Dick Johnson two years earlier in 1994.

Johnson qualified for his 17th straight one-lap dash. However, after qualifying third, Johnson ran wide and grazed the Cutting wall, ending up 10th in the run-off.

Brad Jones qualified ninth, and combined with Lowndes to finish second behind the Bowe/Johnson Falcon.

10th: Garth Tander/Jason Bargwanna, 2000

Pole-sitter: Wayne Gardner (DNF)

Pic: AN1 Images

The 2000 race was the slowest since 1974 thanks to rain and a record-breaking 13 Safety Cars.

Several dramas in the shootout gave 1987 motorcycle world champion Wayne Gardner pole.

Garth Tander took the lead late on after Tony Longhurst crashed with 11 laps to go.

Paul Radisich made a valiant charge on Tander, who delivered Garry Rogers Motorsport an upset win.

12th: Greg Murphy/Steven Richards, 1999

Pole-sitter: Mark Larkham (DNF)

Greg Murphy and Steven Richards delivered Gibson Motorsport its third and final Bathurst win in 1999.

It was Richards' second straight Bathurst win, 12 months after winning from 15th alongside Jason Bright for Stone Brothers Racing.

15th: Jason Bright/Steven Richards, 1998

Pole-sitter: Mark Skaife (6th)

A practice crash had the Steven Richards/Jason Bright entry on the back foot.

However, the duo combined to win the Stone brothers their only Great Race.

15th: Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards, 2015

Pole-sitter: David Reynolds (6th)

With Friday qualifying moved to Saturday after Chaz Mostert’s heavy crash, Craig Lowndes could only manage 15th in a rain-affected session.

Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell led for most of the race, but Whincup ignored a call to pit during the last Safety Car period.

Whincup passed the Safety Car and was handed a drive-through penalty, all but guaranteeing victory for Lowndes and Steven Richards.

17th: Will Davison/Jonathon Webb, 2016

Pole-sitter: Jamie Whincup (11th)

Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell were peerless in the 2016 race, but Whincup’s late incident with Garth Tander and Scott McLaughlin opened the door for Tekno Autosports.

Davison qualified 17th for the race, but was in the right place at the right time to claim the win.

Whincup’s post-race 15-second tie penalty handed victory to Davison, who crossed the line just 0.1434s ahead of Shane van Gisbergen.

19th: Peter Brock/David Parsons/Peter McLeod, 1987

Pole-sitter: Klaus Ludwig (EXC)

Pic: AN1 Images

Sierras filled the top five positions in the shootout, with rookie Klaus Ludwig a runaway pole winner.

Eggenberger Sierras ran away with the race, with Steve Soper and Pierre Dieudonné taking the chequered flag two laps ahead of teammates Ludwig and Klaus Niedzwiedz.

Peter Brock, Peter McLeod and David Parsons were third, but were handed victory after the two Eggenberger cars were disqualified for illegally modified front wheel arch guards.

After an appeal, the disqualifications were upheld; Brock, McLeod and Parsons were declared race winners.

It was a record ninth Bathurst victory for Brock, and his final victory in the race.

It came after the Brock/Parsons car had failed on lap 34, with the pair moving into the Holden Dealer Team's second car.

The 2021 Repco Supercars Championship and Dunlop Series seasons will conclude at the Repco Bathurst 1000.

Foxtel’s coverage will start on Wednesday 1st December at 8:25 am AEDT on channel 503 and Kayo.

The Seven Network will provide live free to air coverage of the event. Tickets for the event and camping are on sale now.

Related Content
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter