Scott McLaughlin wins Barry Sheene Medal

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 05/12/2016
  • By Supercars

Scott McLaughlin has won his second Barry Sheene Medal for the best and fairest driver at tonight’s Virgin Australia Supercars Gala Awards in Sydney.

McLaughlin finished third in this year’s Virgin Australia Supercars Championship and is widely considered one of the rising stars of the sport. He will line-up for DJR Team Penske in 2017.

2016 Supercars Champion Shane van Gisbergen was officially presented with the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Trophy at Dockside Pavilion at Darling Harbour in Sydney.

It was van Gisbergen’s first title and he also became the first New Zealander to win the Championship since Jim Richards in 1991.

Red Bull Racing Australia walked away with the Castrol EDGE Champion Team trophy for the seventh year running, securing their place at the head of pit lane for another season. GM Holden was Champion Manufacturer of the Year.

Touring car stalwarts and former team owners Ross and Jim Stone were inducted into the Supercars Hall of Fame. They join a select Hall of Fame group including names such as Peter Brock, Allan Moffat, Mark Skaife and Dick Johnson.

Supercars CEO James Warburton congratulated all award winners and said the sport continued to go from strength to strength in 2016. Highlights included:

  • Securing Virgin Australia as naming rights partner
  • Securing the Newcastle 500 as the season finale starting in 2017
  • Renewing major Government partnerships for events in Queensland, New South Wales, Darwin and Victoria
  • Signing Simona De Silvestro as the first full-time female driver in 40 years
  • The second biggest ever attendance at the Bathurst 1000 featuring a tribute to Peter Brock
  • Holden and Nissan re-committing to the sport
  • A five-year radio rights agreement with Triple M through the Southern Cross Austereo Network

“This has been another memorable year for Supercars. As well as strong attendances across the country we have recorded double digit growth across our broadcast and digital platforms,” Warburton said.

“We have had 15 different winners across the year and continue to deliver the closest, most exciting and competitive touring car racing in the world. We look forward to an even bigger and better year in 2017 starting with the Supercars Season Launch at the Adelaide Oval on February 9.”

Full list of 2016 Virgin Australia Supercars Gala Awards Winners
2016 Virgin Australia Supercars Champion – Shane van Gisbergen

2016 Supercars Dunlop Series Champion – Garry Jacobson

V8 Utes Champion – David Seiders

Castrol EDGE Champion Team – Red Bull Racing Australia

Champion Manufacturer – GM Holden

Barry Sheene Medalist – Scott McLaughlin

Mike Kable Young Gun Award – Cameron Waters

ARMOR ALL Pole Position Award – Shane van Gisbergen

ARMOR ALL Dunlop Series Pole Position Award – Jack Le Brocq

Supercars Hall of Fame Inductees – Ross and Jim Stone

Privateers Cup – Todd Hazelwood

Fans Choice Awards – Most Popular Driver – Craig Lowndes

Fans Choice Awards – Best Event – Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

Best Presented Team – Red Bull Racing Australia

Supercars Media Award – Jessica Yates, Fox Sports

Appreciation of Service Award – Frank Lowndes

Best Volunteer Group – Clipsal 500 Adelaide

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter