Roll call: winning drivers who tamed Winton

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 18/05/2021
  • By James Pavey

Next weekend's Winton SuperSprint marks the 33rd time a championship event has been held at the iconic Victorian circuit.

Fords have won eight of the last 14 races at Winton dating back to 2014, and 10 of the last 11 pole positions.

The Blue Oval is the most successful make at Winton, having won 29 of 66 championship races at the circuit.

It's close at the top, Holden has claimed 27 wins, and a clean sweep at its final Winton appearance would take it above Ford.


Two of Ford's greatest names, Glenn Seton and John Bowe, lead the way with five wins each.

The two drivers won all of their Winton races in Fords.

Eight drivers won four races, with two drivers, Jamie Whincup and Mark Winterbottom, on the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship grid.


Whincup won two in Falcons (2007 and 2008) and two in Commodores (2011 and 2012), with Winterbottom claiming his four wins across three straight visits between 2013 and 2015.

Seven active drivers have won at the three-kilometre circuit: Whincup, Winterbottom, Tim Slade and Fabian Coulthard (two), Will Davison, Chaz Mostert and Shane van Gisbergen (one).

Slade's only career wins came on the same weekend, with the current Blanchard Racing Team driver going back-to-back for Brad Jones Racing in 2016.

Current series leader van Gisbergen's sole win at Winton came in 2017, the year after he won his maiden drivers' title.


The retired Rick Kelly scored his 13th and final career win on the Saturday in 2018, the final win for the Nissan Altima model.

Scott McLaughlin completed a clean sweep of the 2019 event, which featured two races.

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to Victoria for the Winton SuperSprint across May 28-30. Tickets are available here.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo with highlights on 7 and 7 Plus. Check out the weekend schedule here.

Winton championship race winners (drivers)

5: Glenn Seton, John Bowe
4: Jim Richards, Jason Bargwanna, Russell Ingall, Jason Bright, Garth Tander, Jamie Whincup, Craig Lowndes, Mark Winterbottom
3: James Courtney, Scott McLaughlin
2: Mark Skaife, Tim Slade, Fabian Coulthard
1: George Fury, Larry Perkins, Greg Murphy, Marcos Ambrose, Cameron McConville, Jason Richards, Will Davison, James Moffat, Lee Holdsworth, Chaz Mostert, Shane van Gisbergen, Rick Kelly

Winton championship race winners (cars)

29: Ford
27: Holden
7: Nissan
2: BMW
1: Mercedes

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter