Roll call: Winning drivers who tamed Sydney Motorsport Park

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 24/10/2021
  • By James Pavey

Sydney Motorsport Park has hosted championship rounds since 1992, and in nearly 30 years, several drivers have hit the jackpot.

The host venue of the next four rounds of the 2021 season has staged 59 championship races.

A total of 21 different drivers have won races at the Eastern Creek venue; 11 of them have won on more than one occasion.

Mark Skaife won 10 times between 1995 and 2007, the latter instance helping Skaife break Peter Brock's round wins record.

Skaife and Marcos Ambrose were the shining lights for Holden and Ford respectively, with Ambrose winning seven races from eight starts between 2003 and 2005.

Ambrose also clinched his two drivers' titles - in 2003 and 2004 - at the circuit.

Glenn Seton won six races at SMSP; he swept the 1993 and 1997 rounds. On both occasions, he went on to win the title.

Ford drivers will be looking to close the gap to Holden across the next four weekends; Holden leads Ford 31-27 in the wins count.

Glenn Seton, John Bowe and Alan Jones in 1993 Pic: AN1 Images

Scott McLaughlin, who won three of the six SMSP races in 2020, won for Volvo and Garry Rogers Motorsport in 2014.

SMSP has also been the host venue for five drivers' first career wins.

Notably, Jack Le Brocq won the thrilling final race last year.

Nick Percat also won two races in 2020, doubling his career wins tally after his Bathurst 2011 and Adelaide 2016 wins.

Paul Radisich claimed his first career win in 2000 Pic: AN1 Images

Eight active drivers - Le Brocq, Percat, Shane van Gisbergen, Jamie Whincup, Chaz Mostert, Will Davison, Mark Winterbottom and Fabian Coulthard - have won races at SMSP.

Can an 22nd driver add their name to the SMSP winners' list next weekend?

The 2021 Repco Supercars Championship will continue at next weekend’s Bunnings Trade Sydney SuperNight. Tickets for all four upcoming Sydney events are on sale now.

All sessions will be broadcast live on Fox Sports and streamed via Kayo. The Seven Network will broadcast live from 3:30pm AEDT on Saturday and 12:30pm AEDT on Sunday.

Sydney Motorsport Park championship race winners (drivers)

10: Mark Skaife
7: Marcos Ambrose
6: Glenn Seton
5: Craig Lowndes
4: Jamie Whincup, Shane van Gisbergen, Scott McLaughlin
3: John Bowe
2: Peter Brock, Chaz Mostert, Nick Percat
1: Paul Radisich, Russell Ingall, Greg Murphy, Rick Kelly, Todd Kelly, Garth Tander, Will Davison, Mark Winterbottom, Fabian Coulthard, Jack Le Brocq

Sydney Motorsport Park championship race winners (cars)

31: Holden
27: Ford
1: Volvo

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter