Roll call: Winning drivers who tamed Sandown

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 19/03/2021
  • By James Pavey

This weekend’s Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint marks the 51st time a championship event has been held at the iconic Victorian circuit.

No other venue has hosted more rounds ATCC/Repco Supercars Championship history including both endurance races and sprint events.

In 50 visits dating back to 1965, just 35 different drivers have won championship races at Sandown, with 16 multiple winners.

Whincup and Lowndes celebrate their 2019 enduro win

Craig Lowndes leads the way with a record 11 wins, with the 110-time race winner claiming his first victory at the track in 1996.

Lowndes won sprint races at the venue in 1998, 1999, 2001 and 2008, as well as the co-driver race in 2019.

He also won the 500km enduro in 2005, 2007, 2012 and 2019.


The driver he shared with in 2007 and 2019, Jamie Whincup, is second on the Sandown winners’ list with nine victories.

The seven-time champion’s first Sandown win came in the 2007 enduro, less than a year before he won two sprint races and the overall round at the circuit.

Whincup was the master of the Sandown 500 in the last decade, winning the enduro in 2013, 2014, 2018 and 2019.

Waters won the 2017 enduro with Richie Stanaway in 2017

He was also the last driver to win a sprint race at Sandown in 2011.

Just five current full-time drivers have won at Sandown: Whincup, Mark Winterbottom, James Courtney, Will Davison and Cameron Waters.

Tickford Racing star Waters was the last non-Holden driver to win at Sandown, and the last driver from a Victorian team to win at the venue.

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to Victoria this weekend at the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint. Tickets are on sale now.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo. Check out the full weekend schedule here.


Sandown championship race winners

Wins Driver
11 Craig Lowndes
9 Jamie Whincup
6 Dick Johnson, Mark Skaife
5 Glenn Seton, John Bowe, Peter Brock
4 Allan Moffat, Paul Dumbrell
3 Marcos Ambrose
2 Norm Beechey, Paul Radisich, Todd Kelly, Mark Winterbottom, Warren Luff, Garth Tander
1 Allan Grice, Bob Jane, Bob Morris, Colin Bond, Yvan Muller, George Fury, Ian Geoghegan, James Courtney, Jason Bright, Jim Richards, Kevin Bartlett, Larry Perkins, Greg Ritter, Rick Kelly, Steve Ellery, Will Davison, Steve Owen, Cameron Waters, Richie Stanaway
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter