Reynolds/Youlden lead AMAROK V6 Hard Charger

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 17/10/2019
  • By Connor O'Brien

Penrite Racing pair David Reynolds and Luke Youlden lead the provisional AMAROK V6 Hard Charger standings after their recovery drive at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

The #9 Holden started Sunday’s Great Race a lowly 22nd, having struggled in wet qualifying conditions, but gradually crept up the pecking order to finish fifth.

That was not without struggles, as Youlden in particular endured multiple on-track hiccups, but the combination’s vast experience ultimately shone through.

The Reynolds/Youlden Commodore successfully navigated their way through a chaotic final 60 laps – and may have finished even further up had it not been for DJR Team Penske’s controversial ‘go-slow’ ploy.

Regardless, it puts the 2017 Bathurst winners atop the Hard Charger standings after one of four endurance races.

Two will follow at the Vodafone Gold Coast next weekend before the Penrite Oil Sandown 500 on November 8-10, with the overall winning pairing scoring $15,000.

Calculations are based on a simple final placing versus starting position for each car, with those who record a DNF marked as zeros.

Mobil 1 Racing’s James Courtney/Jack Perkins are second in the standings after their drive from 18th to third, with Fabian Coulthard/Tony D’Alberto and Lee Holdsworth/Thomas Randle the others in double digits.

Tickford Racing entries Cameron Waters/Michael Caruso and Chaz Mostert/James Moffat sit at the foot of the rankings after their costly Mount Panorama collision.

All results are currently provisional, pending the outcome of a hearing over DJR Team Penske’s charge for breaching team orders rules.

Provisional AMAROK V6 Hard Charger standings:

Rank Driver / Co-Driver Team Charge
1 David Reynolds / Luke Youlden Penrite Racing +17
2 James Courtney / Jack Perkins Mobil 1 Racing +15
=3 Fabian Coulthard / Tony D'Alberto Shell V-Power Racing +10
=3 Lee Holdsworth / Thomas Randle The Bottle-O Racing Team +10
5 Jack Le Brocq / Jonathon Webb Truck Assist TEKNO Racing +8
6 James Golding / Richard Muscat Boost Mobile Racing +7
=7 Alexander Rossi / James Hinchcliffe NAPA Auto Parts Racing +6
=7 Scott Pye / Warren Luff Mobil 1 Racing +6
=7 Macauley Jones / Dean Canto Team CoolDrive +6
=10 Mark Winterbottom / Steven Richards IRWIN Racing +3
=10 Shane van Gisbergen / Garth Tander Red Bull Holden Racing Team +3
=10 Simona De Silvestro / Alex Rullo Team Harvey Norman +3
13 Rick Kelly / Dale Wood Castrol Racing +2
14 Garry Jacobson / Dean Fiore Racing +1
=15 Jamie Whincup / Craig Lowndes Red Bull Holden Racing Team +0
=15 Scott McLaughlin / Alex Premat Shell V-Power Racing +0
=15 Anton De Pasquale / Will Brown Penrite Racing +0
=15 Tim Slade / Ash Walsh Freightliner Alliance Racing +0
=15 Todd Hazelwood / Jack Smith Bigmate Racing +0
=15 Brodie Kostecki / Jake Kostecki Team Arcoweld Racing +0
=15 Andre Heimgartner / Bryce Fullwood Plus Fitness Racing +0
22 Richie Stanaway / Chris Pither Boost Mobile Racing -1
23 Will Davison / Alex Davison Milwaukee Racing -5
24 Nick Percat / Tim Blanchard 7-Eleven Mobil Racing -7
25 Chaz Mostert / James Moffat Supercheap Auto Racing -14
26 Cameron Waters / Michael Caruso Monster Energy Racing -18
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter