Red Bull Ampol Racing seals 2022 teams' title

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 30/10/2022
  • By James Pavey

Red Bull Ampol Racing clinched its 11th teams' championship at the Boost Mobile Gold Coast 500.

The Holden squad secured the title with Shane van Gisbergen's victory in Race 32.

The team has an unassailable 683-point lead over Shell V-Power Racing Team with one round remaining.

The Banyo team needed a 576-point lead after Sunday to secure the title.

Triple Eight's cause wasn't helped when Broc Feeney crashed early on.

However, the margin was enough after the race to see the team clinch the championship.

It was further secured due to Anton De Pasquale's later disqualification.

Sunday's result was van Gisbergen's record-extending 21st win of the year, and fifth in a row.

Triple Eight first won the title in 2008, and reeled off seven in a row between 2010 and 2016.

It added wins in 2018 and 2021, and headed into 2022 as the defending champions.

The team clinched the title with a round to spare despite Feeney crashing out of Sunday's race.

Feeney was caught up in the lap 4 pile-up at the back chicane, and suffered his first DNF of the year.

Champion team of the year

1999: Holden Racing Team
2000: Holden Racing Team
2001: Holden Racing Team
2002: Holden Racing Team
2003: Stone Brothers Racing
2004: Stone Brothers Racing
2005: Stone Brothers Racing
2006: Toll HSV Dealer Team
2007: Toll HSV Dealer Team
2008: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2009: Holden Racing Team
2010: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2011: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2012: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2013: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2014: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2015: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2016: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2017: DJR Team Penske
2018: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2019: DJR Team Penske
2020: DJR Team Penske
2021: Triple Eight Race Engineering
2022: Triple Eight Race Engineering*

*Season ongoing

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter