Race head-to-heads: How teammates stack up

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 07/08/2022
  • By James Pavey

We’re eight rounds into the 2022 Repco Supercars Championship, and some drivers are beginning to leave their teammates behind.

Shane van Gisbergen is an overwhelming favourite to win championship No. 3, having opened up a 393-point lead.

Behind him, some teammates are locked in tight combat, with three Ford drivers close behind the series leader.

Supercars.com has tallied the head-to-head race finishes of all multi-car teams on the grid.

The head-to-head tallies do not include races one or more team cars failed to see the chequered flag.

Take a look at how all team head-to-heads stack up after the OTR SuperSprint.

Red Bull Ampol Racing

SVG has won a whopping 14 races

21 Shane van Gisbergen (14 wins, 5 podiums)
2 Broc Feeney (1 podium)

Van Gisbergen is on a career-best run, having won 14 of 23 races this season. Feeney has held his own, however, and has recorded 17 top 10 finishes in 23 finishes. Both drivers have finished every single racing lap in 2022.

Shell V-Power Racing Team

It's level pegging at DJR

12 Anton De Pasquale (1 win, 8 podiums)
11 Will Davison (1 win, 9 podiums)

Davison has De Pasquale’s measure in qualifying, but it is far more even in the race stakes. Both drivers have finished every single race this season, and De Pasquale edges Davison 12-11. Davison has 10 podiums to De Pasquale’s nine, but both drivers have a win each.

Tickford Racing

Waters is again leading Tickford's charge

14 Cam Waters (3 wins, 7 podiums)
2 James Courtney (2 podiums, 1 DNF)
1 Jake Kostecki (3 DNF)
0 Thomas Randle (4 DNF, 1 DNS)

Waters is again proving Tickford’s spearhead; he has claimed all three wins and seven poles for the full-time quartet, barring Zak Best’s wildcard Tailem Bend pole. Courtney has two podiums to his name, with Kostecki crossing the line ahead of his three teammates in the Albert Park opener.

Walkinshaw Andretti United

Mostert has four wins

18 Chaz Mostert (4 wins, 3 podiums, 1 DSQ)
3 Nick Percat (1 DNF)

Mostert has led WAU’s charge in 2022 as Percat battles to acclimatise with his new team. Mostert has won four races and has taken three additional podiums.

Erebus Motorsport

Kostecki returned to the rostrum at The Bend

13 Brodie Kostecki (2 podiums)
8 Will Brown (2 DNF)

It has been a challenging sophomore season for both drivers, and Kostecki has made a better fist of it. Kostecki scored podiums in the wet in Sydney and Tailem Bend. Brown’s best is surely just around the corner.

Brad Jones Racing

Heimgartner has been impressive for BJR

13 Andre Heimgartner (2 podiums, 3 DNF, 1 DNS)
2 Bryce Fullwood (1 DNF, 1 NC)
1 Jack Smith (2 DNF)
0 Macauley Jones

Heimgartner hit the ground running with speed in Sydney, and scored podiums in Perth and Winton. He also loomed to score trophies in Darwin and Townsville. First-year BJR driver Bryce Fullwood has shown glimpses of speed, but has been unable to make a dent in Heimgartner’s progress.

Team 18

No podiums yet for Team 18 in 2022

9 Mark Winterbottom
7 Scott Pye (5 DNF, 2 DNS)

Pye has been the unluckiest driver this season, having been taken out three times and suffered mechanical dramas. When both drivers reach the chequered flag, it’s pretty even, with Winterbottom still chasing his first podium for Team 18 in his fourth season.

Penrite Racing

Six trophies and counting for Reynolds

17 David Reynolds (6 podiums, 1 DNF)
5 Lee Holdsworth (1 podium)

Reynolds has been outstanding in 2022, having scored six podiums and a pole. Holdsworth has struggled in qualifying, but manages to charge forward in races. However, he is already one step behind in the races given he starts much further behind Reynolds.

Matt Stone Racing

Hazelwood opened the season strongly

10 Jack Le Brocq (3 DNF)
10 Todd Hazelwood

It has been a season of two halves at MSR, with Le Brocq enjoying a solid run of form after a disastrous start to the season. Hazelwood is the driver in a rut, having started the season in and around the top 10.

PremiAir Racing

Jacobson showed PremiAir's best at Albert Park

12 Garry Jacobson (3 DNF, 1 DNS)
5 Chris Pither
2 James Golding

Interestingly, Jacobson leads the race head-to-head despite being given his marching orders after Darwin. Jacobson did his best work at Albert Park with three top 10s. Golding has already put two higher finishes on Pither in two rounds as teammates.

The 2022 season will resume at Sandown on August 19-21. Purchase your tickets now.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter