PremiAir hands Super2 rookie Bathurst debut

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 05/08/2022
  • By James Pavey

Super2 rookie Cameron Hill will make his Repco Bathurst 1000 debut with PremiAir Racing.

PremiAir Racing confirmed Friday that Hill, 25, will share the #22 Coca-Cola Commodore with Chris Pither.

Hill is one of the more accomplished drivers in the Super2 field, having won last year's Carrera Cup title.

He also won this year’s Bathurst 6 Hour, and is the 2015 Australian Formula Ford Series winner and 2017 Toyota 86 Racing Series runner-up.

Hill remarkably won April's 6 Hour despite starting 60th.

The Canberra-born driver impressed Triple Eight, which handed him a Super2 seat for 2022.

Through three rounds, Hill is second overall, just 69 points behind teammate Declan Fraser.

'What better way to make my debut'

Hill is the seventh current Super2 driver announced for Bathurst; Hill joins Declan Fraser, Matt Payne, Aaron Seton, Matt Chahda and Jaylyn Robotham as debutants.

"This will be my first main game race, and what better way to make my debut," Hill said.

"While it may be my first time at Bathurst in a Supercar, I’ve got plenty of laps under my belt.

"I’ve also raced in the Bathurst 12 Hour, in Carrera Cup, and the Toyota 86 Racing Series.

"For me, this is going to be an incredible experience, and I’m looking forward to being on the mountain.

"Hopefully, between Chris and I we can achieve a great result."

It comes after Hill tested a PremiAir Commodore at Queensland Raceway in May.

Pither will make his 12th Bathurst start, having made his debut in 2007.

For Hill, it will be Great Race start No.1; it will also come on the same weekend he makes his first Super2 Bathurst starts.

"It's very hard to get your first opportunity in the Supercars Championship," Pither said.

"Cam’s been going well in Super2, this year, so he deserves the opportunity.

"Racing in the Bathurst 1000 for the first time is a special experience, I look forward to sharing with him.

"I know he'll do a great job."

PremiAir Racing Team Principal Matt Cook added: "We are very excited to have Cam coming on board with Chris to co-drive the PremiAir Coca-Cola Racing Supercar.

"Cam currently drives for Triple Eight Race Engineering in Super2 and our cars are Triple Eight cars.

Carrera Cup success in 2021

"The transition should be pretty seamless for him and we are hoping he can do some big things here with us."

Hill will join Pither at Queensland Raceway next Tuesday for a test day.

Just five combinations on the 29-car grid remain unconfirmed, including the sister PremiAir car.

PremiAir Racing is expected to announced James Golding's co-driver in the coming days.

The 2022 season will resume at Sandown on August 19-21. Purchase your tickets now.

Tickets for this year's Repco Bathurst 1000 are on sale now.

2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 combinations

Driver/Co-driver Team
Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup Red Bull Ampol Racing
Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander Red Bull Ampol Racing
Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto Shell V-Power Racing Team
Will Davison/Alex Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team
James Courtney/Zane Goddard Tickford Racing
Cam Waters/James Moffat Tickford Racing
Thomas Randle/Zak Best Tickford Racing
Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki Tickford Racing
Nick Percat/Warren Luff Walkinshaw Andretti United
Chaz Mostert/Fabian Coulthard Walkinshaw Andretti United
Will Brown/Jack Perkins Erebus Motorsport
Brodie Kostecki/David Russell Erebus Motorsport
Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso Team 18
Scott Pye/TBA Team 18
Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard CoolDrive Racing
David Reynolds/Matt Payne Penrite Racing
Lee Holdsworth/Matt Campbell Penrite Racing
Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood Brad Jones Racing
Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore Brad Jones Racing
Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys Brad Jones Racing
Jack Smith/TBA Brad Jones Racing
Chris Pither/Cameron Hill PremiAir Racing
James Golding/TBA PremiAir Racing
Jack Le Brocq/Aaron Seton Matt Stone Racing
Todd Hazelwood/TBA Matt Stone Racing
Craig Lowndes/Declan Fraser Triple Eight (wildcard)
Richie Stanaway/Greg Murphy Erebus Motorsport (wildcard)
Matt Chahda/Jaylyn Robotham Matt Chahda Motorsport (wildcard)
TBA/TBA Anderson Motorsport (wildcard)
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter