Pitlane order revealed

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 28/01/2020
  • By Connor O'Brien

Tickford Racing has rejigged their garage line-up for 2020 as confirmation comes through of the pitlane order for this year’s Virgin Australia Supercars Championship.

The pitlane order is based on the teams’ championship standings from the previous season, with a spot closest to pit exit coveted for strategic benefits.

That privilege will be with Shell V-Power Racing this year after they clinched the 2019 teams’ title courtesy of a strong final round at the Coates Hire Newcastle 500 last November.

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s Shane van Gisbergen and Jamie Whincup will share the second garage, ahead of Tickford’s two bays.

Interestingly, Cameron Waters and Lee Holdsworth’s crews will switch positions compared to last year.

Waters and the #6 Monster Energy Mustang will partner the #55 Supercheap Auto Racing entry of Jack Le Brocq in the first garage, with veterans Holdsworth and Will Davison sharing the second bay.

Those pairings will also form the team’s two duos for the teams’ championship, meaning Waters/Le Brocq and Holdsworth/Davison will respectively have their tallies combined.

In 2019, Chaz Mostert and Holdsworth accrued 5294 points to be third overall, just ahead of Waters/Davison.

There will be no shared crews this season, with all teams running either two or four cars.

Pitlane order for the 2020 season:

Shell V-Power Racing

#17 Scott McLaughlin

#12 Fabian Coulthard

Red Bull Holden Racing Team

#97 Shane van Gisbergen

#88 Jamie Whincup

Tickford Racing

#6 Cameron Waters

#55 Jack Le Brocq

Tickford Racing

#5 Lee Holdsworth

#23 Will Davison

Penrite Racing

#9 David Reynolds

#99 Anton De Pasquale

Walkinshaw Andretti United

#TBA Chaz Mostert

#2 Bryce Fullwood

Brad Jones Racing

#8 Nick Percat

#14 Todd Hazelwood

Brad Jones Racing

#TBA Macauley Jones

#TBA Jack Smith

Kelly Racing

#7 Andre Heimgartner

#15 Rick Kelly

Team 18

#18 Mark Winterbottom

#TBA Scott Pye

Matt Stone Racing

#35 Garry Jacobson

#34 Zane Goddard/Jake Kostecki

Team Sydney

#19 James Courtney

#TBA Driver TBA

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter