Pit Stop Challenge finalists locked in

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 27/08/2019
  • By Connor O'Brien

Brad Jones Racing has secured a double shot at the 2019 PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge title after earning two places in the finals to be held at Bathurst.

The BJR crew sealed top spot for the #8 ZB Commodore driven by Nick Percat by delivering the fastest pit stop of the Saturday race at The Bend – the last event of the challenge’s regular season.

The fourth quickest stop of the day for Tim Slade was enough to ensure the #14 BJR car also proceeds to the top four play-offs, seeded third.

With Slade, BJR will go head-to-head with the Red Bull Holden Racing Team’s #88 driven by Jamie Whincup, who was both the second fastest stopper on Saturday and second in the overall standings.

Up against Percat’s entry in the other semi-final will be the sole Mustang representative, Chaz Mostert and his Tickford Racing crew.

BJR took a memorable split of the $20,000 winner’s cheque last year after a close finish in the grand final between Percat and Shell V-Power Racing’s #17 Ford was awarded the way of the latter.

The Albury-based team disputed the decision, leading Shell V-Power Racing owner Roger Penske to offer counterpart Brad Jones half of the takings.

This year’s finals – to be held on October 11, the Friday night of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 event – will mark the first time in the concept’s three-year history that Shell V-Power Racing hasn’t featured.

Both of the Stapylton team’s cars made the 2017 decider.

The Whincup v Slade semi-final will be held at 6.40pm, before a 6.55pm meeting between Percat and Mostert.

The grand final will run 7.20-7.25pm.

Final 2019 PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge regular season standings:

  1. 1. Nick Percat/Brad Jones Racing 175
  2. 2. Jamie Whincup/Red Bull HRT 170
  3. 3. Tim Slade/Brad Jones 162
  4. 4. Chaz Mostert/Tickford Racing 158
  5. 5. Lee Holdsworth/Tickford Racing 154
  6. 6. Rick Kelly/Kelly Racing 135
  7. 7. Shane van Gisbergen/Red Bull HRT 133
  8. 8. Andre Heimgartner/Kelly Racing 132
  9. 9. Cameron Waters/Tickford Racing 117
  10. 10. David Reynolds/Penrite Racing 113
  11. 11. Anton De Pasquale/Penrite Racing 113
  12. 12. Fabian Coulthard/Shell V-Power Racing 112
  13. 13. Scott Pye/Mobil 1 MEGA Racing 110
  14. 14. James Courtney/Mobil 1 MEGA Racing 109
  15. 15. Scott McLaughlin/Shell V-Power Racing 107
  16. 16. Simona De Silvestro/Kelly Racing 95
  17. 17. Garry Jacobson/Kelly Racing 89
  18. 18. Todd Hazelwood/Matt Stone Racing 88
  19. 19. Macauley Jones/Brad Jones Racing 85
  20. 20. Will Davison/Tickford Racing 78
  21. 21. Richie Stanaway/Boost Mobile Racing 71
  22. 22. Mark Winterbottom/IRWIN Racing 64
  23. 23. James Golding/Boost Mobile Racing 53
  24. 24. Jack Le Brocq/Truck Assist Tekno Racing 47
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter