No panic over final BJR co-drive

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 12/08/2022
  • By James Pavey

Brad Jones Racing is comfortable it will lock in a "terrific" co-driver for Jack Smith.

The slot alongside Smith at BJR is one of two vacancies, the other at Team 18, yet to be confirmed.

Both teams will announce their co-drivers in the coming weeks.

In the interim, BJR has called on Craig Lowndes to steer the #4 SCT Logisitics Commodore next week.

Lowndes, who will race a Triple Eight wildcard in Bathurst, will drive the car in the Sandown Additional Driver session.

"We’re progressing with conversations about what our co-driver looks like," Andrew Jones told

"It would be absolutely terrific to be able to have something to announce.

"I’m a big believer in process and system. I’m wired to follow that.

"Until we go through all parts of that and tick them off along the way, it’ll play out."

Jones reiterated David Wall, who impressed for the team last year, remains the preference.

Wall is currently fighting for the Porsche Carrera Cup title.

A veteran of 70 Supercars rounds and 152 races, Wall was parachuted into BJR’s line-up at the 11th hour last year.

Wall replaced Ash Walsh, who was unable to compete due to border restrictions.

Smith and Wall combined well and drove a smart race to 17th in last year’s Great Race.

Wall impressed for BJR last year

Wall previously co-drove for BJR in 2010 and 2011, and was one of its full-time drivers in 2012 and 2013.

Jones said there was no set date for an announcement for the #4, but reiterated the team is working on getting the best driver possible.

"There’s no set timeline but I’m comfortable we’ll have a terrific co-driver," Jones said.

"David did a terrific job for us last year, ultimately our preference is to get him back in.

"We do have ‘B’ and ‘C’ plans should that not work out.

"But we’re going through everything methodically, and it’ll take care of itself."

Co-drivers will tackle a 30-minute dedicated session at Sandown next Friday.

Tickets for the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint are on sale now.

2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 combinations

Driver/Co-driver Team
Broc Feeney/Jamie Whincup Red Bull Ampol Racing
Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander Red Bull Ampol Racing
Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto Shell V-Power Racing Team
Will Davison/Alex Davison Shell V-Power Racing Team
James Courtney/Zane Goddard Tickford Racing
Cam Waters/James Moffat Tickford Racing
Thomas Randle/Zak Best Tickford Racing
Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki Tickford Racing
Nick Percat/Warren Luff Walkinshaw Andretti United
Chaz Mostert/Fabian Coulthard Walkinshaw Andretti United
Will Brown/Jack Perkins Erebus Motorsport
Brodie Kostecki/David Russell Erebus Motorsport
Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso Team 18
Scott Pye/TBA Team 18
Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard CoolDrive Racing
David Reynolds/Matt Payne Penrite Racing
Lee Holdsworth/Matt Campbell Penrite Racing
Andre Heimgartner/Dale Wood Brad Jones Racing
Bryce Fullwood/Dean Fiore Brad Jones Racing
Macauley Jones/Jordan Boys Brad Jones Racing
Jack Smith/TBA Brad Jones Racing
Chris Pither/Cameron Hill PremiAir Racing
James Golding/Dylan O'Keeffe PremiAir Racing
Jack Le Brocq/Aaron Seton Matt Stone Racing
Todd Hazelwood/Jayden Ojeda Matt Stone Racing
Craig Lowndes/Declan Fraser Triple Eight (wildcard)
Richie Stanaway/Greg Murphy Erebus Motorsport (wildcard)
Matt Chahda/Jaylyn Robotham Matt Chahda Motorsport (wildcard)
TBA/TBA Anderson Motorsport (wildcard)
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter