Naming rights sponsor confirmed for Winton

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 12/05/2015
  • By Nissan Motorsport

The all-new Nissan NP300 Navara will be the name behind Event four of the 2015 V8 Supercars Championship at Winton Motor Raceway in Victoria this weekend.

The event will be known as the NP300 Navara Winton SuperSprint to celebrate the upcoming launch of Nissan's latest pick-up utility.

As well as event naming rights sponsorship, Michael Caruso's #23 Nissan Altima V8 Supercar will race at Winton in a fresh NP300 Navara livery.

The striking red colour scheme of the #23 NP300 Navara Nissan Altima V8 Supercar is also a nod to the upcoming race debut of the Nissan GT-R LM NISMO LM P1 car at next month's Le Mans 24 Hour, part of the FIA World Endurance Championship.

Fans attending the NP300 Navara Winton SuperSprint will get a chance to see the all-new Nissan NP300 Navara on display at the circuit this weekend.

The all-new Nissan NP300 Navara is 'powerful made clever', a tough, powerful and capable vehicle with premium ride, comfort and interior, smart technologies and sleek, modern styling.

NP300 Navara is built on Nissan's 80 year history of building reliable and innovative pick-up utilities, or 'utes', with over 14 million Nissan pick-ups sold globally.

"Winton is a great fit with our all-new Nissan NP300 Navara," said Nissan Motor Co. (Australia) Managing Director and CEO Richard Emery.

"This event is a favourite with dedicated motorsport fans, many of which will be driving to the event or camping at the circuit with their own Navara.

"The NP300 Navara Winton SuperSprint comes at an opportune time for us as the NP300 Navara goes on sale in Nissan dealerships around Australia in the days following this weekend's event."

The NP300 Navara Winton SuperSprint also marks the 30th anniversary of the first time the rural circuit hosted the Australian Touring Car Championship/V8 Supercars Championship in 1985.

Nissan has taken victory at Winton in 1989 (George Fury, Nissan Skyline), 1990 (Jim Richards, Nissan Skyline), 1991 (Jim Richards, Nissan GT-R) 1992 (Mark Skaife, Nissan GT-R) and 2013 (James Moffat, Nissan Altima).

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter