Murphy to join Symmons Plains practice

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 05/04/2019
  • By Mitchell Adam

Four-time Bathurst winner Greg Murphy will take part in Friday's additional-driver practice session at the Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint with Brad Jones Racing.

Murphy, whose last Supercars start came in 2014 and now features on broadcasts, is set to step into Macauley Jones' Team CoolDrive Commodore.

He joins a fleet of co-drivers ramping up their preparations for the PIRTEK Enduro Cup with the 30 minutes of running at Symmons Plains.

That group is headlined by end-of-2018 retirees Craig Lowndes and Garth Tander at the Red Bull Holden Racing Team, and Tickford Racing recruit Michael Caruso.

BJR will have Ash Walsh and Tim Blanchard in its other two Holdens, raced full-time by Tim Slade and Nick Percat.

Murphy took part in the Winton additional-driver session last year, with Tekno Autosport in Jack Le Brocq's Commodore.

He raced an Audi in Super Tourers with BJR in the mid-1990s before starting his Supercars career.

Supercars rookie Jones is at the foot of the standings after two events, and in a spare chassis after a high-speed accident at the Superloop Adelaide 500.

Friday's session starts at 10:30am, before Practice 1 for regular drivers at 11:50am.

The weekend's Fox Sports broadcast gets underway at 10:15am AEDT.

Additional-driver session entry list

# Team Primary Driver Additional Driver
2 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing Scott Pye Warren Luff
3 Racing Garry Jacobson  
4 SCT Logistics Racing Jack Smith  
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Lee Holdsworth Thomas Randle
6 Monster Energy Racing Team Cameron Waters Michael Caruso
7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Bryce Fullwood
8 Dunlop Racing Nick Percat Tim Blanchard
9 Penrite Racing David Reynolds Luke Youlden
12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Tony D'Alberto
14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Ash Walsh
15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Bryce Fullwood
17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Tony D'Alberto
18 IRWIN Racing Mark Winterbottom Steven Richards
19 Truck Assist TEKNO Racing Jack Le Brocq Jonathon Webb
21 Team CoolDrive Macauley Jones Greg Murphy
22 Mobil 1 MEGA Racing James Courtney Jack Perkins
23 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Alex Davison
33 Boost Mobile Racing Richie Stanaway  
34 Boost Mobile Racing James Golding  
35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood  
55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert James Moffat
78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro  
88 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Craig Lowndes
97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Garth Tander
99 Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale William Brown


Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter