Movers and shakers after four rounds: 2021 vs 2020

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 04/06/2021
  • By James Pavey

A third of the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship has been run and won, with four events completed.

The 2020 and 2021 seasons began with 11 races across four completed events.

There are two key differences in 2021 versus 2020; eventual 2020 champion and 13-time season race winner Scott McLaughlin has left for IndyCar, and points are being awarded for fastest lap-getters in sprint races for the first time.

Current series leader Shane van Gisbergen, who won the opening six races of the season, has made a significant improvement on his 2020 position.


The Red Bull Ampol Racing driver is a whopping 359 points better off where he was after four events and 11 starts in 2020.

His teammate Jamie Whincup, remarkably, is again second, and is one point off his 2020 point-score. He has, however, won a single race so far this year versus two in 2020.

Chaz Mostert is again third, but has scored 52 more points this season. He has also won a race, having won the Symmons Plains finale in April.

Mostert has scored the most points through fastest laps, having tallied 15 points courtesy of three quick race laps. Whincup's two fastest laps ensured he was only one point down on his 2020 points total.

Van Gisbergen has improved in leaps and bounds

The biggest mover, with regards to positions gained, is Team 18's Scott Pye. After four events in 2020, he was 17th; heading to the Merlin Darwin Triple Crown later this month, he is 11th.

Shell V-Power Racing Team recruit Anton De Pasquale is five positions better off, ahead of Andre Heimgartner (four) and van Gisbergen (three).

The biggest loser is Fabian Coulthard, who Coulthard shifted to Team Sydney from the Shell V-Power Racing Team in the off-season. The Kiwi has dropped 12 places and is a whopping 348 points worse off.

Kelly Grove Racing recruit David Reynolds is a surprise loser; he was fifth after four events in 2020, and is 13th heading to Darwin.

He has also scored 190 fewer points than his 2020 haul, which came in his final campaign with Erebus Motorsport.

2021 has been tough for Coulthard so far

Disregarding Will Davison, who only completed one full-time event last year following the demise of 23Red Racing, seven drivers have scored more points than last year through four events.

11 drivers have scored fewer points; Tim Slade, Brodie Kostecki, Will Brown, Jake Kostecki and Zane Goddard have been left off as they did not complete full campaigns in 2020.

The Repco Supercars Championship field will return to the Northern Territory for the Merlin Darwin Triple Crown across June 18-20. Tickets are available here.

The event will be broadcast live on Foxtel and will be streamed on Kayo, and will be broadcast live and free on Seven.

Movers and shakers (after four events)

Driver 2021 position 2020 position 2021 points 2020 points
van Gisbergen 1st 4th 1112 753
Whincup 2nd 2nd 922 923
Mostert 3rd 3rd 866 814
Davison* 4th 20th 861 231
Waters 5th 6th 848 733
Winterbottom 6th 7th 697 706
De Pasquale 7th 12th 648 583
Heimgartner 8th 11th 646 602
Percat 9th 8th 617 705
B.Kostecki** 10th N/A 615 N/A
Pye 11th 17th 580 488
Courtney 12th 15th 566 528
Reynolds 13th 5th 546 736
Brown** 14th N/A 544 N/A
Fullwood 15th 18th 527 460
Le Brocq 16th 13th 516 566
Hazelwood 17th 16th 511 525
Goddard*** 18th N/A 442 N/A
J.Kostecki*** 19th N/A 432 N/A
Slade** 20th N/A 410 N/A
Coulthard 21st 9th 334 682
Smith 22nd 19th 330 390
Jacobson 23rd 21st 285 363
Jones 24th 20th 282 372

*Davison completed one event in 2020

**Slade, Brown and B.Kostecki weren't full-time in 2020

***J.Kostecki and Goddard shared a car in 2020

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter