Mostert chasing final Gen2 era bragging rights

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 25/11/2022
  • By James Pavey

Final bragging rights of the Gen2 era are also in Chaz Mostert’s sights in Adelaide.

The VALO Adelaide 500 will be the final race of the current ruleset before Gen3 debuts in 2023.

The Adelaide round will also be the final appearance of a Holden in a main game Supercars race.

Mostert’s team, Walkinshaw Andretti United, will celebrate its Holden heritage with a special livery.

WAU will then embark on a new journey with Ford from next season.

Mostert has won for both brands, and is the fifth most successful driver of the Car of the Future/Gen2 era.

Mostert has won four races in 2022

The COTF platform debuted in 2013, with an evolution of the COTF ruleset — Gen2 — debuting in 2017.

Only Shane van Gisbergen, Jamie Whincup, Scott McLaughlin and Craig Lowndes have won more races in the current era.

Mostert, who has never won in Adelaide, is keen to end the current chapter of Supercars on top.

“I’d obviously like to finish off the year on a high,” he said in a Mobil 1 video.

“It’s the last year of Gen2 as well, so it's last bragging rights of this era. There’s a lot to play for.

“Obviously last round, the last position in the championship is up for grabs.

“I’ve never been able to win at Adelaide, I’ve been second there before.

“Just getting to the finish is a result in itself… but it’s one that’s got away.

“I’d love to try and clock up my first win around there.”

Next year, Mostert will race a Ford for the first time since 2019.

Fittingly, it will come at the same venue, being the Newcastle streets.

Mostert won 13 races in Fords between 2013 and 2019 before shifting to WAU and Holden.

The two-time Bathurst winner is also a chance to overhaul Cam Waters for second in the championship.

Waters is 175 points ahead of Mostert with a maximum of 300 points remaining over the two Adelaide races.

Last year, Mostert recorded his best career overall finish of third.

Waters, meanwhile, is aiming to match his runner-up finish in 2020.

“It’s going to be really special,” Mostert said of the Adelaide event.

“To farewell a manufacturer, obviously switching brands.

“The focus will be to finish in the right way and make sure we can put out best foot forward and try and win that last round this year.

“We’re gonna try and go for the last Holden win in this series.

“We’ll worry about next year, it’s very exciting news for the team to go back to a factory-backed manufacturer.”

Most wins in COTF/Gen2 era (315 races between 2013-22)

73: Shane van Gisbergen
60: Jamie Whincup
56: Scott McLaughlin
21: Craig Lowndes
20: Chaz Mostert
18: Mark Winterbottom
13: Fabian Coulthard
8: Cam Waters, Anton De Pasquale, Will Davison
7: Garth Tander, David Reynolds
6: James Courtney
5: Paul Dumbrell
3: Jason Bright, Nick Percat, Alex Premat, Jonathon Webb
2: Tim Slade, Lee Holdsworth, James Moffat, Steven Richards, Steve Owen
1: Michael Caruso, Dean Canto, Warren Luff, Paul Morris, Jack Perkins, Richie Stanaway, Luke Youlden, Rick Kelly, Scott Pye, Jack Le Brocq, Andre Heimgartner, Will Brown

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter