Morning Running Complete Ahead of 500

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 15/09/2013
  • By V8 Supercars

This morning’s 20-minute warm-up session is complete, with teams focusing on driver changes ahead of this afternoon’s 500km.

All 56 drivers spent time in the cars in the last, but brief, run prior to the Wilson Security Sandown 500’s race this afternoon, beginning at 1.35pm AEST.

And the same two cars featured at the top of the results, though this time car #1 recorded the fastest time with Paul Dumbrell’s 1min09.6633. Will Davison was just one tenth of a second behind the wheel of his Pepsi Max Ford.

Relative to the record braking times set yesterday, the cars were just two-tenths off the pace – so Davison still holds the new lap record of 1min09.4118.

Holden Racing Team car 22 held much of the focus after Greg Murphy had a slip climbing into the Commodore during a driver change. After the session James Courtney also spoke of the transaxel leaking fluid, but the car will be fine to start this afternoon’s race, from seventh on the grid.

Rounding out the top 10 in warm up was Scott McLaughlin/Jack Perkins, Dale Wood/Chaz Mostert, Lee Holdsworth/Craig Baird, Tim Slade/Andrew Thompson, Greg Ritter/Alex Premat, Greg Murphy/James Courtney, Fabian Coulthard/Luke Youlden and David Reynolds/Dean Canto.

Others to note include Mark Winterbottom/Steve Richards in 11, Warren Luff/Craig Lowndes in 19, Nick Percat/Garth Tander in 22 and Andrew Jones/Jason Bright in 27. The highest placed Nissan was the James Moffat/Taz Douglas pair in the Norton #360.

Click here for full session results, and here for starting positions, as per yesterday’s qualifying.

Click here for ways to follow today's race action.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter