McLaughlin lends hand to PIRTEK trophy build

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 18/10/2017
  • By

Final preparations are being made for this weekend’s deciding round of the PIRTEK Enduro Cup at the Vodafone Gold Coast 600, with Scott McLaughlin lending a hand.

The fifth PIRTEK Enduro Cup will be awarded to the highest points scoring drivers over the Sandown, Bathurst and Gold Coast events.

The perpetual PIRTEK Enduro Cup was designed and created by Queensland artist James Corbett in 2013, utilising various PIRTEK components and fittings.

Each year, Corbett creates a three-quarter size replica version of the main trophy, which the winning team gets to keep.

Shell V-Power Racing's McLaughlin visited Corbett at his Sunshine Coast studio to help put the finishing touches on the latest trophy.

“It has been a while since I have done any welding, so hopefully it all holds together,” said McLaughlin, who is a qualified fabricator by trade.

“Unfortunately I am out of the hunt for the PIRTEK Enduro Cup this year, but the Shell V-Power Racing Team still have a great chance to collect the trophy with Fabian [Coulthard] and Tony [D’Alberto] who are leading the points.

“I need some good results this weekend to stay in the championship hunt so that will be all the motivation I need, but I look forward to having a chance of walking away with this trophy next year.

"Who wouldn’t want it (the trophy) in their collection, have a look at it.”

Corbett with the PIRTEK Enduro Cup trophy Corbett with the PIRTEK Enduro Cup trophy

PIRTEK chief executive officer Stephen Dutton says he is delighted with the interest that the PIRTEK Enduro Cup has generated since its inception.

The concept adds extra interest to the Gold Coast race and was born following the end of the event’s international co-driver format run from 2010-12.

“We wanted to help create something quite unique and the PIRTEK Enduro Cup concept really provides a focal point for the endurance part of the Supercars season,” said Dutton.

“Originally we wanted to develop something equally unique when it came to the trophy and James Corbett certainly did that. It was great to see Scotty giving him a hand today to finish off this year’s prize."

2017 PIRTEK Enduro Cup points

1: Fabian Coulthard/Tony D’Alberto 480
2: Chaz Mostert/Steve Owen 414
3: Cameron Waters/Richie Stanaway 414
4: David Reynolds/Luke Youlden 408
5: Dale Wood/Chris Pither 372
6: Scott Pye/Warren Luff 360
7: Shane van Gisbergen/Matt Campbell 342
7: Garth Tander/James Goulding 342
9: Todd Kelly/jack LeBrocq 306
10: Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore 294

Previous Pirtek Enduro Cup winners

2013: Craig Lowndes and Warren Luff (Triple Eight Race Engineering)
2014: Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell (Triple Eight Race Engineering)
2015: Garth Tander and Warren Luff (Holden Racing Team)
2016: Shane van Gisbergen and Alex Premat (Triple Eight Racing Engineering)

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter