McLaughlin continues streak with Race 10 pole

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 21/05/2017
  • By Stefan Bartholomaeus

Scott McLaughlin scored Shell V-Power Racing’s sixth straight ARMOR ALL Pole Award ahead of Race 10 at the Winton SuperSprint.

McLaughlin set the best time of the weekend of 1:19.07s with nine of the session’s 20 minutes remaining.

It proved 0.34s quicker than previous fast-man Jamie Whincup, who was narrowly ahead of Red Bull team-mate Shane van Gisbergen.

Van Gisbergen went fastest of all to the end of the first sector on his subsequent final run, but like McLaughlin and Whincup could not improve.

“I feel like the track might have gone off a little bit at the end there,” said McLaughlin.

“I got a really good lap. It was our best of the weekend and it’s good to do that at the most important time.

“I’m lucky that I’ve got a great car underneath me and I’m just trying to drive it the best I can with no mistakes.”

Cameron Waters bounced back from a tough Saturday to score fourth ahead of Fabian Coulthard, who was fifth for a second consecutive day, 0.4s adrift of team-mate McLaughlin.

Will Davison and Lee Holdsworth put their customer Triple Eight machinery sixth and seventh respectively, marking the latter’s best qualifying of the season to date.

Mark Winterbottom, Tim Slade and Garth Tander completed the top 10 ahead of Rick Kelly, Nick Percat and yesterday’s fourth-placed finisher David Reynolds.

Saturday front-row starter Chaz Mostert could do no better than 17th, hurting his chances of regaining lost points following yesterday’s gearbox failure.

Further back Craig Lowndes again struggled for one-lap speed in 26th aboard his TeamVortex Holden.

Mobil 1 HSV duo James Courtney and Scott Pye were 21st and 28th respectively, continuing their poor run of form.

The 200km Race 10 of the season is set to take place from 1:45pm.

CLICK HERE for the full qualifying result.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter