Le Brocq tops co-driver session

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 07/10/2016
  • By Bruce Newton

The Fords have fought back on Friday morning at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 to lead the co-driver session, with Jack Le Brocq topping the times in the Monster Falcon he is sharing with fellow young gun Cameron Waters.

Le Brocq’s 2min05.9547sec time topped a last gasp effort from Luke Youlden in the Shell Helix Falcon FG X he will share with Fabian Coulthard by just 0.0277sec.

They were the only two drivers to break the 2:06 barrier, with Paul Dumbrell third fastest at 2:06.0098 in the Red Bull Holden Commodore that led every session yesterday.

Times tumbled late in the session with Prodrive Racing Australia’s Dean Canto, Red Bull’s Alex Premat and Youlden’s DJR Team Penske team-mate Tony D’Alberto completing the top six.

“It was one of those pretty cool feelings, didn’t realise I did a 2:05, that’s pretty cool,” Le Brocq said.

“I’m still trying to learn the car and work it all out, I’m trying to work out how they set this car up compared to the Dunlop car – pretty stoked.”

Added Waters: “Stoked for Jack to be P1 – we’re both struggling with same things and I think we fixed a lot of those in the session. I’m really excited, just want to get in it myself.”

Steve Owen, Macauley Jones, Karl Reindler and Ash Walsh rounded out the top 10, while Matt Campbell was 11th and first Nissan.

James Golding returned to the track in the repaired #34 Volvo and despite a run-off early and a couple of other wobbles survived the session unscathed to be 14th fastest and the final car within one second of the fastest time.

Russell Ingall shaved the wall at the top of the mountain in the Sengled Nissan he is sharing with Rick Kelly. He set 22nd fastest time.

Steven Richards continues to struggle in the TeamVortex Commodore he is sharing with Craig Lowndes, down in 21st place, while Holden Racing Team co-drivers Warren Luff and Jack Perkins were 13th and 25th respectively.

Click here for full session results. 

The final all drivers session before qualifying kicks off at 11.35am local time. 

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter