Lap by Lap: Main Drivers Qualifying Race

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 14/09/2013
  • By V8 Supercars

After Paul Dumbrell kept it clean, Jamie Whincup will start from the front row, with Will Davison alongside, vying for ARMOR ALL Pole Position. The pair sit first and second in the Championship, though today's race is only for qualifying, not for points. 

Chaz Mostert and Garth Tander start on the second row, with Craig Lowndes and David Reynolds behind. 

The cars are on the grid. 

Lee Holdsworth says he will be giving it a good crack today, having to start from 24th on the grid after a last lap incident in the co-driver race. 

Seem to be some spots of rain.

Cars are on their warm up lap. 

Tander stuck on the line, and cars off at tur one. Engel and Fiore both turned around and off the road. 

Will Davison gets the jump and will leaad the two Red Bull cars across the line at the end of lap one. 

L2 Great run and pass from Tander on Ingall. He's in 16th after starting fourth.

L3 and Alex Davison into pit lane with body work damage to the front of the car. Taped up and back out. 

Top 10 is Will Davison, Whincup, Lowndes, Mostert, Winterbottom, Reynolds, Courtney, Slade, McLaughlin, Coulthard. 

Post race investigation for incident at turn one, lap one. 

L5 Todd Kelly great move and over takes a bunch of cars for 10th. Tander off the road and in 13th is now at the back of that battle pack. 

Winterbottom with a fastest lap on 6. Six drivers have smashed the standing race lap record, which was set by Tander on Dunlop soft tyres in 2009. 

L9 Rick Kelly off the road, but rejoined cleanly.

Just over half way on lap 11 and order is Will Davison, Whincup, Lowndes, Mostert, Winterbottom, Reynolds, Courtney, Slade, McLaughlin and Todd Kelly. 

Others to note are Tander and Coulthard in 13 and 14. 

L15 – van Gisbergen trying to pass Coulthard for 14th, while SVG started in 26th. 

L17 Winterbottom trying to get up the inside of Mostert. 

L18 Pye into the sand, but manages to get back onto the track. 

L19 Winterbottom passes Mostert for fourth, and Reynolds is right in behind.

FINAL LAP – Will Davison continues to lead Whincup and Lowndes, with Winterbottom now in fourth and Mostert behind in fifth. 

Following them home is Reynolds, Courtney, Slade, McLaughlin and Todd Kelly inside the top 10. 

Others to note are Bright in 11, Tander 13, van Gisbergen 14, Coulthard 15.

Will Davison will be awarded the ARMOR ALL Pole Award, and will go on to start from first on the grid for tomorrow's 500km race. 

Click here for full race results. 


Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter