Kumho Series to support V8 Supercars in 2016

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 27/11/2015
  • By Kumho Series

The Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series today confirmed it will hold two rounds next year at V8 Supercars Championship events.

The series, which first appeared back in 2008 and has since become a home for former V8 Supercars, will join the support category line-up at May’s Winton SuperSprint and July’s Coates Hire Ipswich SuperSprint at Queensland Raceway next year.

Both rounds will be televised live on FOX Sports and form part of a five-round national series for the category, which uses a control Kumho tyre and will be entering its ninth season next year.

Prior to 2016 the Kumho Series has raced exclusively on the Shannons Nationals bill, however May next year will be the first time it has competed away from its traditional home.

Kumho Series Category Manager Liam Curkpatrick says the move makes sense given the history of the category’s cars, the number of Dunlop Series teams that also operate cars in the V8 Touring Car category and the stature of racing at V8 Supercars Championship events.

“We’ve had many fans keen to see our category compete at V8 Supercars Championship events for quite some time, so we’re thrilled to make that happen next year,” he says.

“Next year we have further change with the introduction of the VE/VE II Commodore and FG Falcon to the category, so the Kumho Series becomes even more important as part of the staircase of V8 racing in this country.”

V8 Supercars Chief Operating Officer Shane Howard sees the addition of the Kumho Series to V8 Supercars Championship events a major plus for both parties.

“We’re very happy that the Kumho Series will be joining us next year for the first time,” he says.

“Seeing a lot of those cars racing will bring back a lot of memories for the people in our pit lane who have previously driven and indeed built them, as well as the fans who have watched them over the years.”

The Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series uses de-registered V8 Supercars Commodores and Falcons that have previously been built and raced by some of the top drivers and teams in the sport in both the V8 Supercars Championship and Dunlop Series.

Previous Kumho Series champions Chris Smerdon, Adam Wallis, Tony Evangelou and Terry Wyhoon have all raced in V8 Supercars, while recent Kumho Series champions Josh Hunter, Shae Davies and now 2015 victor Liam McAdam have used it as a springboard into the Dunlop Series.

Kumho Series organisers have confirmed next year’s series will be held over five rounds with the other three venues and dates to be announced in due course.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter