Jamie Whincup: Six of the best

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 30/11/2014
  • By V8 Supercars

Winningmultiple V8 Supercars Championships is an impressive achievement in Australian motorsport, but winning six is the stuff of men that now sit in rarified air.

And when you consider that Jamie Whincup sealed his sixth crown at the age of just 31 at Phillip Island in mid-November, it's even more impressive.

His sheer history of ongoing and sustained performance in the championship is quite simply impossible to argue against.

With six titles from the last seven years - which very easily could have been seven or eight given he was also runner up in 2007 and 2010 - Whincup's record is ultra impressive.

He will collect the champion's trophy at the end of proceedings at Sydney Olympic Park, but how do you summarise Whincup's achievements?

V8supercars.com.au pulled some key statsahead of the Sydney NRMA 500 ...

- From 2007 onwards he's finished in the top two in the championship pointscore every year - a streak of this magnitude (eight years) has never been strung together before. Not even Peter Brock, Allan Moffat or any of the other greats to leave wheel tracks before him have stats sheets that can boast of that.

- Last year Whincup joined Ian 'Pete' Geoghegan, Dick Johnson and Mark Skaife as a five-time Australian Touring Car/V8 Supercar Champion.

- This year he went past them all to be the first to claim six and, in doing so, winning his fourth straight championship and joining Geoghegan in the record books as the only men to achieve this feat.

Eras are impossible to completely compare, though it must be remembered three of the four consecutive Geoghegan crowns were claimed in the 1960s were when the championship was decided by a single-race, rather than the year-long slog of 38 races and 14 rounds of today.

- Having won in Ford Falcons in 2008 and 2009 and then Holden Commodores from 2011 onwards, Whincup is also the only driver in championship history to win multiple championships in more than one brand of car. Norm Beechey is the only other driver to win in two brands (Ford in 1965 and Holden in 1970).

- The 2002 Australian Formula Ford Champion is coming to the end of his ninth season with Roland Dane's Triple Eight squad and 11th full-time in the championship.

- He's given Holden its 19th championship victory and the 14th for its long-time Commodore platform.

- While the points battle has been secured, there's still the issue of the ARMOR ALL Pole Position Award, which Whincup leads 10-9 over Volvo young gun Scott McLaughlin and could win for the sixth time in the last seven years.

- It's kind of ironic that it took 18 months with Triple Eight for Whincup to earn his first pole in mid-2007 but since then he's broken all the records and this year surpassed Peter Brock for most poles in championship history.

- From 35 races this year he's finished every one of them (one of only three drivers in the field) and punched out 12 wins, 18 podiums, 26 top five finishes and 31 top 10 finishes.

- From the second race in Perth back in mid-May through to now - a span of 21 straight races - he's not finished worst than seventh. It's results of this magnitude that show you exactly why he's the champion.

- His 12 wins this season tie his 12 of 2012, though still falls slightly short of his personal record of 15 in his first title year of 2008. There are, however, three races in Sydney that allow him a chance to tie that mark.

- Whincup is seriously threatening to become the first driver in ATCC/V8SC history to win 100 races. Sitting on 87 wins now compared to Mark Skaife's 90 and Craig Lowndes' 97, such has been his winning rate this year he would appear highly likely to beat his teammate to the century.

- And he's poised to take the record for most podiums away from Lowndes, trailing 135-133 in that stats column pre-Sydney.

- While Sydney Olympic Park may have been something of a bogey track for him in the past, no more does it have the wood on Whincup on paper.

With his first race win and podium finish finally coming there last year, he's actually now scored more points at the Sydney 500 than any other driver across the five years it's been running.

See Whincup awarded the 2014 V8 Supercars Championship trophy in a week's time at the Sydney NRMA 500 - more details here.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter