How the Larry Perkins Trophy can be won

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 09/04/2022
  • By James Pavey

Shane van Gisbergen leads the way in the fight to secure the Larry Perkins Perpetual Trophy.

The driver who scores the most points across the Beaurepaires Melbourne 400 will win the trophy.

Van Gisbergen leads the way for the prize, which was introduced for the Albert Park event in 2018.

It was brought in to accompany the start of points-paying races at the Australian Grand Prix.

Van Gisbergen won both races on Saturday from third on the grid, taking his 2022 tally to six.

Chaz Mostert won the opening leg on Friday, with van Gisbergen racing from 23rd to third.

Mostert is one of four drivers in contention to win the Larry Perkins Perpetual Trophy, with 75 points on the line in Sunday's 20-lap finale.

Van Gisbergen has won two races this weekend

Van Gisbergen leads David Reynolds by 17 points, with Tim Slade a surprise 66 points behind.

Mostert is 70 points adrift, having lost ground after he was penalised over an incident in Race 7.

Van Gisbergen can seal the trophy with a finish of second or better on Sunday should Reynolds win.

Reynolds has recorded finishes of second, second and third in Melbourne.

The Grove Racing driver last won a race in Newcastle in 2018, but has scored four podiums in his last five starts.

Garry Jacobson is a remarkable fifth overall for PremiAir Racing, having recorded three strong results.

Jacobson has finished ninth, sixth and 10th at Albert Park, having started 15th, 21st and 24th.

Jamie Whincup won the inaugural Larry Perkins Perpetual Trophy in 2018, with Mostert winning in 2019.

The Beaurepaires Melbourne 400 will conclude with Race 9 on Sunday.

2022 Larry Perkins Perpetual Trophy points

Position Driver Points
1 Shane van Gisbergen 219
2 David Reynolds 202
3 Tim Slade 153
4 Chaz Mostert 149
5 Garry Jacobson 132
6 Broc Feeney 127
7 Anton De Pasquale 116
8 Lee Holdsworth 113
9 Will Davison 111
10 Brodie Kostecki 111
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter