How many different nationalities have won Supercars races?

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 30/08/2021
  • By James Pavey

When Andre Heimgartner crossed the line to win Race 9 in Tailem Bend in May, he created history,

Heimgartner became the 81st driver in ATCC/Supercars history to win a race, and the 13th New Zealander.

Contemporaries Scott McLaughlin and Shane van Gisbergen lead the way for New Zealand with 56 and 51 race wins respectively.

Of the 81 race winners, 62 are Australian-born.

Melbourne-born Whincup has won a record 123 races

Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes are the only two to have won 100 or more races, with Mark Skaife third overall with 90 wins.

Since 1960, drivers from six different nationalities have shared the 1074 championship race wins.

The 62 Australian drivers combine for a whopping 831 wins. Of the 62, 23 won two or fewer races.

Behind Australia and New Zealand is Canada, with the iconic Allan Moffat doing all the heavy lifting.

Moffat won 36 races, four titles and four Bathursts

Moffat is responsible for all of Canada’s 36 race wins, his last coming in 1984 - the year son James was born.

Three French drivers have stood atop a Supercars podium: Yvan Muller was the first, the WTCC ace winning the 2005 Sandown 500 alongside Lowndes.

Sebastien Bourdais, the four-time Champ Car champion and starter of 27 Formula One Grands Prix, won on the Gold Coast alongside Whincup twice.

Bourdais was Whincup’s co-driver on the Surfers streets under the international co-driver ruleset.

Bourdais won twice on the Gold Coast

The most successful Frenchman remains Alex Premat, who famously won the 2019 Bathurst 1000 alongside McLaughlin.

Premat hit the jackpot with van Gisbergen on the Gold Coast in 2016, before returning to win with McLaughlin 12 months later.

Great Britain and Finland also produced winners on the Gold Coast, with Richard Lyons and Mika Salo winning for Ford Performance Racing in 2011 and 2012 respectively.

All nations bar Canada have tasted success on the Surfers Paradise streets, making the Gold Coast event the most diverse with regards to winners.

Premat is the only non Australian or Kiwi driver locked in for November’s Repco Bathurst 1000, meaning the list will stay at six winning nationalities for at least another year.

Premat struck gold at Mount Panorama in 2019

Winning nationalities in ATCC/Supercars

Australia (831 wins for 62 drivers): Jamie Whincup (123), Craig Lowndes (110), Mark Skaife (90), Garth Tander (56), Peter Brock (48), Glenn Seton (40), Mark Winterbottom (38), John Bowe (31), Dick Johnson (30), Marcos Ambrose (28), Russell Ingall (27), Jason Bright (20), Todd Kelly (19), Will Davison (19), James Courtney (15), Chaz Mostert (15), Rick Kelly (13), Allan Grice (12), Bob Jane (10), Colin Bond (10), Ian Geoghegan (9), Bob Morris (9), George Fury (8), Larry Perkins (8), Norm Beechey (7), Tony Longhurst (7), Jason Bargwanna (7), Paul Dumbrell (7), David Reynolds (7), Alan Jones (5), Cameron Waters (5), Jonathon Webb (4), Nick Percat (4), Kevin Bartlett (3), Steven Johnson (3), Lee Holdsworth (3), Paul Morris (3), Warren Luff (3), Steve Owen (3), Jim McKeown (2), John Harvey (2), Wayne Gardner (2), David Besnard (2), Cameron McConville (2), Dean Canto (2), Tim Slade (2), Michael Caruso (2), James Moffat (2), Anton De Pasquale (2), David McKay (1), Bill Pitt (1), Ray Gulson (1), Charlie O’Brien (1), Lawrie Nelson (1), Peter Doulman (1), Mark Larkham (1), Steve Ellery (1), Greg Ritter (1), Jack Perkins (1), Luke Youlden (1), Scott Pye (1), Jack Le Brocq (1)

New Zealand (199 wins for 13 drivers): Scott McLaughlin (56), Shane van Gisbergen (51), Greg Murphy (28), Jim Richards (23), Fabian Coulthard (13), Steven Richards (10), Paul Radisich (8), Robbie Francevic (5), Craig Baird (1), Simon Wills (1), Jason Richards (1), Richie Stanaway (1), Andre Heimgartner (1)

Canada (36 wins for 1 driver): Allan Moffat (36)

France (6 wins for 3 drivers): Alex Premat (3), Sebastien Bourdais (2), Yvan Muller (1)

Finland (1 win for 1 driver): Mika Salo (1)

Great Britain (1 win for 1 driver): Richard Lyons (1)

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter