How Davison's 500th stacks up against the rest

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 28/06/2022
  • By James Pavey

Will Davison marked his 500th Supercars race start with a podium at the Merlin Darwin Triple Crown.

Davison followed Anton De Pasquale in a Shell V-Power Racing Team one-two in Race 16.

The two-time Bathurst winner became just the 10th ATCC/Supercars driver to record 500 starts.

However, with Davison's second place, all 10 drivers were unable to convert start No. 500 to victory.

Davison managed to become just the fourth driver to convert their 500th start into a trophy.

Russell Ingall was the first driver to bring up the milestone, coming at the Yas Marina Circuit in 2012. He finished 16th.

Craig Lowndes, the all-time starts record holder, fittingly turned his 500th race into a podium at Mount Panorama.

Lowndes is the only driver to have brought up 500 starts in Bathurst, where he has won seven times.

It would be until 2018 before another driver christened their 500th start with a podium.

Rick Kelly raced to third at Phillip Island aboard his family-run Nissan Altima.

Jamie Whincup was set to make his 500th start at Albert Park in 2020 before COVID-19 intervened.

His 500th race was delayed to Sydney Motorsport Park, and he duly raced to the podium.

Whincup marked his 500th start with a podium

Last November, Whincup also christened his 250th round with dual podiums, also at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Davison is one of three drivers to celebrate 500 races in 2022 alongside James Courtney and Lee Holdsworth.

Courtney slumped to 20th at Albert Park back in April in race No. 500.

Holdsworth is set to bring up his 500th start in the opening race at the Penrite Oil Sandown SuperSprint.

Will the reigning Bathurst winner manage to become the first driver to mark the milestone with a victory?

Cars will hit the track for dual practice sessions next Friday. Purchase your NTI Townsville 500 tickets now.

How each driver fared in their 500th ATCC/Supercars race starts

Driver Event Result
Russell Ingall Abu Dhabi, 2012 16th
Craig Lowndes Bathurst, 2013 3rd
Garth Tander Ipswich, 2014 9th
Jason Bright Townsville, 2015 19th
Todd Kelly Townsville, 2016 10th
Rick Kelly Phillip Island, 2018 3rd
Mark Winterbottom Townsville, 2019 10th
Jamie Whincup Sydney, 2020 2nd
James Courtney Albert Park, 2022 20th
Will Davison Darwin, 2022 2nd
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter