How Darwin clash nearly ruined SVG's finish record

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 27/06/2022
  • By James Pavey

The hallmark of Shane van Gisbergen's title-winning form has been his ability to reach the chequered flag.

However, that nearly came crashing down at the recent Merlin Darwin Triple Crown.

Van Gisbergen clashed with Will Davison late in Race 18, and picked up steering damage.

The reigning champion limped home and was classified 21st, and was later slapped with a penalty over the clash.

It nearly ended a run of consecutive race finishes dating back to the middle of 2020.

What it did do was reduce van Gisbergen's championship lead, with Anton De Pasquale now 214 points behind.

Van Gisbergen is one of four drivers have active finish streaks of 50 or races.

Mark Winterbottom's run of finishes at Winton and Darwin boosted his run to 52 straight finishes.

Davison has officially finished his last 55 races dating back to 2019, notably, he missed the balance of 2020 after 23Red Racing shut down.

The longest streak belongs to Nick Percat, who last retired from a race in Townsville 2020 due to an engine failure.

The consistent Percat last crashed out of a race in Darwin 2020.

Van Gisbergen's last DNF was due to a power steering failure in Townsville 2020.

The Red Bull Ampol Racing driver is now on a run of 57 finishes, behind Davison's 61 and Percat's 60.

Van Gisbergen recently passed his second longest streak of 55, which was set across the 2010, 2011 and 2012 seasons while with Stone Brothers Racing.

His best streak can be surpassed should he finish both races in Townsville and the three Tailem Bend races.

While with Tekno Autosports, van Gisbergen finished 61 straight races between the end of 2013 and the middle of 2015.

Davison, Percat and van Gisbergen have a long way to catch Jamie Whincup's benchmark.

Whincup finished 136 consecutive races between Gold Coast 2013 and Albert Park 2018.

The 2022 season will resume at the NTI Townsville 500. Purchase your tickets now.

Longest finishing streaks (2022 full-time drivers)***

*Wasn't full-time in 2020

**Wasn't full-time in 2021

***Doesn't include abandoned Race 30 in Sydney 2021

****Doesn't include DSQ from Race 16 in Darwin 2022

Driver Races finished Last DNF
Davison* 61 Tailem Bend 2019
Percat 60 Townsville 2020
van Gisbergen 57 Townsville 2020
Winterbottom 52 Tailem Bend 2020
Slade* 46 MP500 2021
Waters 38 Tailem Bend 2021
Mostert**** 38 Tailem Bend 2021
Pither** 26 Townsville 2020
Hazelwood 24 Darwin 2021
B.Kostecki 23 Sydney 2021
Holdsworth** 21 Sydney 2021
Jones 19 Sydney 2021
Feeney** 18 Bathurst 2021
De Pasquale 18 Bathurst 2021
Le Brocq 14 Tasmania 2022
Heimgartner 11 Albert Park 2022
Reynolds 9 Albert Park 2022
Smith 7 Perth 2022
Fullwood 7 Perth 2022
J.Kostecki 6 Perth 2022
Jacobson 4 Winton 2022
Brown 2 Darwin 2022
Courtney 1 Darwin 2022
Randle** 1 Darwin 2022
Pye 0 Darwin 2022
Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter