Holden Racing Team quickest

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 05/12/2014
  • By V8 Supercars

Holden Racing Team has come out firing in the final session, with James Courtney topping the times at the track he was awarded his V8 Supercars Championship in 2010.

Courtney's 1min28.121 lap around the Sydney street circuit was just 0.04sec quicker than teammate Garth Tander, who has also been victorious at the savage street track.

The two split one win apiece in 2009, though Courtney then raced for Dick Johnson Racing.

Walkinshaw Racing stablemate Tim Slade was third in the Supercheap Auto Commodore, with Scott Pye, Shane van Gisbergen, Practice Two's fastest man Lee Holdsworth, Scott McLaughlin, David Reynolds, and BJR's Jason Bright and Fabian Coulthard completing the top 10.

Champion elect Jamie Whincup was 11th this session, with teammate Craig Lowndes 14.

Marcos Ambrose finished the session in 24th - ahead of Mark Winterbottom, an uncharacteristic 25th - his quickest a 1min29.559, 1m43sec behind the leader.

Click here for the full results.

Another practice session will be held tomorrow morning at 9.00am ADST, before the V8 Supercars qualify for races 36 and 37, kicking off at 11.15am.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter