Gala awards dinner recognises Supercars stars

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 08/12/2014
  • By V8 Supercars

The V8 Supercars racing may have wrapped up yesterday - but tonight is the night of nights in Sydney.

The V8 Supercars Gala Awards Dinner is the formal recognition of a number of achievements throughout the year, including the coveted Barry Sheene Medal for fairest and best, Mike Kable Young Gun Award for most promising up and comer, and the fan favourite driver and team as voted by you.

From 6pm, head to to see the drivers glammed up in their smashing suits (rather than their driver suits!) on the red carpet, ahead of the big announcements at the prestigious awards.

The 2014 V8 Supercars Champion Jamie Whincup and V8 Supercars Dunlop Series winner Paul Dumbrell will formally receive their trophies, as well as Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 winners Chaz Mostert and Paul Morris.

Whincup has also locked down the Pole Award, beating Scott McLaughlin, who also earned 10 p1 starts, on count-back.

Log on to from 6pm to follow all the action from the V8 Supercars Gala Awards Dinner tonight.

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter