Former teammates face off for Pirtek Enduro Cup

  • Repco Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 22/10/2016
  • By Pirtek

Shane van Gisbergen and Alex Premat are in the box seat for the PIRTEK Enduro Cup after their Saturday win on the Gold Coast.

But it’s Van Gisbergen’s former driving partner and team boss Jonathon Webb who can still challenge after winning Bathurst with Will Davison earlier this month.

The Red Bull Racing Australia pair stands to be the first internationals to have won the PIRTEK Enduro Cup with an 87-point lead over the TEKNO Autosports pair.

Van Gisbergen and Premat overcame a 10 second penalty handed to them due to a Safety Car infringement to take yet another win, which also coincided with Triple Eight’s 100th pole position.

In victory as co-driver, Premat gets his first Virgin Australia Supercars Championship race win.

Leaders of the PIRTEK Enduro Cup coming into this weekend, Webb and Davison were stricken with a puncture under the final safety car.

In third placing was Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell in the Red Bull Racing Australia #88.

Today's result guarantees that Holden will win its fourth successive PIRTEK Enduro Cup.

Scott McLaughlin and David Wall shot to third in the Pirtek Enduro Cup with their second place finish today. 

Tomorrow, qualifying will be followed by an ARMOR ALL Top 10 Shootout then another 102 lap torture test.

Click here for full Pirtek Enduro Cup points. 

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Repco Supercars Championship Newsletter