Fast Facts: Woodstock Winton SuperSprint

  • Virgin Australia Supercars Championship
  • |
  • 13/05/2016
  • By Supercars

1. This year’s Virgin Australia Supercars Championship has featured eight different winners from the first nine races – a new record for the opening stages of a championship season.

Mark Winterbottom of Prodrive Racing Australia wins the Perth SuperSprint,  at the Barbagallo Raceway, Wanneroo, Western Australia, May 08, 2016.

2. This streak continues a recent trend of multiple winners in the first portion of a season given there were seven different winners from the first nine races in 2011, 2013 and 2015.

3. Sengled Racing’s Rick Kelly will chalk up his 200th Virgin Australia Supercars Championship round start at Winton, becoming just the 12th driver in ATCC/VASC history to reach the mark and the youngest as well.

Rick Kelly

4. Rick and brother Todd (who will make his 220th start at Winton and equal former teammate Mark Skaife for sixth on the all-time list) become the first pair of brothers to have each competed in 200 rounds of the championship.

5. Wilson Security GRM Volvo ace Scott McLaughlin is another to celebrate a milestone at Winton – his 50th Virgin Australia Supercars Championship round start. The Melbourne-based Kiwi made his debut back in 2012 at Sandown and is in his fourth full-time season in the VASC.

Scott McLaughlin of Garry Rogers Motorsport during the WD-40 Phillip Island SuperSprint,  at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circui, Phillip Island, Victoria, April 17, 2016.

6. Prodrive Racing Australia has taken the last four pole positions in a row at Winton across the 2014 and 2015 events. The last team to claim four poles in a row at the venue prior to PRA was Garry Rogers Motorsport back in 1999/2000.

7. Supercheap Auto Racing’s Chaz Mostert and Team Cooldrive’s Tim Blanchard will both make their 100th race starts – Mostert in the Sunday race and Blanchard on Saturday.

8. Just three drivers – Mark Winterbottom, Jamie Whincup and Shane van Gisbergen – have qualified in the top 10 for all nine races so far in the 2016 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship. Winterbottom is the only one of them to have started from pole position (twice).

Jamie Whincup of Red Bull Racing Australia during the Perth SuperSprint,  at the Barbagallo Raceway, Wanneroo, Western Australia, May 08, 2016.

9. The lowest grid position for a Winton ATCC/VASC race winner remains 20th. Jamie Whincup started 20th in a rain-affected Race 1 in 2007 to win in his Triple Eight Falcon BF.

10. The closest race-winning margin in championship history at Winton is 0.1681s between Jason Bargwanna’s victorious Valvoline Commodore and Paul Radisich’s Shell Helix Falcon in Race 3 in 2000.

Click here for all the information you need to follow the Woodstock Winton SuperSprint this weekend. 

Stay In The Know
Sign up to the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Newsletter